No-Noodle Zucchini Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Great tips here and sooooo delicious. Don't think I will ever make lasagna with pasta again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halfmoon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Best I have ever tasted! Only used water to thicken sauce while simmering. Seared zucchini in EVOO prior to layering. Was not runny but yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I give it 2 stars. it is very watery, almost like a stew... not like a lasagna. I had to ladle the juice out. I was afraid of that because mushrooms sweat. It was also not salty enough. The recipe calls for 1 tablespoon of salt, which is really only used to sprinkle the zucchini. Recipe also does not include that you should pat the zucchini down with a papertowel. Basil and parsley get lost. I would also have left the meat, veggies, and tomato sauce separate. I will need to experiment. Sometimes less can be more.. onions and peppers could be cut too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight--didn't even miss the pasta. I added a tablespoon or two of chopped garlic. I also baked the sliced and salted zucchini in the oven for about 15 minutes and blotted the slices on paper towels before assembling to remove any extra moisture. After baking, I let the lasagna sit for about 20 minutes before cutting. Very tasty and had the normal lasagna consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agoodman5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladstone, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Great flavour, but really runny. Also, this made way too much for the two of us, even with leftovers for the next day. I read the idea of putting raw rice in the bottom to soak up the liquid, and while I think this would work, rice just doesn't seem to belong in lasagna for me. Sweating the zucchini was a good idea, but the mushrooms give a lot of liquid when they cook too. Just too runny for my taste, but I do like the zucchini strips idea. Next time I'll likely use some noodles too, just to soak up the liquid, and maybe omit the mushrooms, or at least use less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
It is ridiculously liquidity. It became a soup I followed directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Made this for a family get together and it was the first thing gone!! The sauce is really delicious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I made my own sauce. (Their recipe is questionable: who doesn't cook the onions until soft in olive oil before adding the meat, and why no garlic?? What's with the green pepper? This isn't chili. Why sauce and paste? How about good Redpack crushed tomatoes?) I did use salted zucchini, but I didn't add the spinach or mushrooms, because I didn't have them on hand. BUT..key points: the spinach is sure to be watery as they prepare it. Try using a bag of frozen spinach, and cook it in a bowl in the microwave WITHOUT any added water. The sliced mushrooms are going to be slithery and wet if not cooked first. Use a skillet with 1T olive oil and 2T butter over fairly high heat: they will exude their moisture and then brown nicely. Next time, I'm going to sear each side of the zucchini slices in olive oil after salting and before assembling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
this was really yummy. I added some sausage to the sauce, because i do that will almost all of my Italian sauces. I also added in a few artichoke hearts. I will definitely make this again. I also mixed cottage and ricotta cheeses. The sauce was yummy, used it to make a regular lasagna for my husband and son and this one for me since I am counting calories! Definitely will get your veggies in this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naverymom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moberly, Missouri, USA
Living In: La Grange, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This recipe is good but could use some doctoring to be more flavorful. I followed it fairly closely but substituted ground turkey for beef and took measures to avoid the watery mess several reviewers mentioned. I lightly cooked the mushrooms and drained the liquid and the same for the fresh spinach I used. This all adds to the prep time which is already time consuming and I felt the result wasn't worth all the effort. I'd give it 3.5 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Noodle Zucchini Lasagna

See how to make a meaty, veggie-filled lasagna that’s completely gluten-free.

Eggplant Lasagna

Layers of breaded roasted eggplant with ground beef, tomato sauce, and cheese.

Homemade Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna completely from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States