No-Noodle Zucchini Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2015
This is a good recipe, and I've made it several times and would give it 5 stars if it wasn't for the one problem, and that is excess liquid that builds up within the lasagna during cooking. I follow the recipe's directions, and I even drain the spinach by squeezing the water out of it with my bare hands. When the lasagna is done cooking I usually remove a small corner slice let the excess liquid run to the corner then drain it. I have to do this at least 3 times before I'm satisfied that the lasagna is well drained. Extra work but it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
Made it with ground turkey otherwise just as the recipe was written. My family loved it! For the reviewers who were skeptical about not cooking the bell pepper and onion until soft, they get soft when they are baked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie J Krotz
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2015
Perfect, delicious, everything you'd expect and you do not miss the pasta. Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2015
I have made this SO many times and love it. The only thing I added that's extra is roasted garlic to the meat process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DawnieMac
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
This was quite excellent! I was unable to thoroughly dry out the zucchini even after salting, letting sit and even baking to roast the water out. The zucchini also fell apart and didn't retain a sturdy texture. But veggies are veggies and I didn't need it to look good beneath the oooey gooey cheese so I layered the zucchini anyway as best I could. I'll keep experimenting with zucchini as I'm sure this was my fault. What I modified: I used half Morningstar Farms Meatless Crumbles and half turkey sweet Italian sausage in lieu of the ground beef. Added about 3 cloves minced garlic and used fresh spinach instead of frozen. Added a tspn of basil pesto to the ricotta mixture and used a jarred sauce with a little extra tomato paste to beef up the tomato flavor. Finally I used fat free mozzarella cheese on the first (bottom) cheese layer. I did this because it doesn't melt very well and I felt it would give the lasagna (due to my zucchini fail) the texture it needed and I was right as it helped bind it. The end result was an absolutely delicious, albeit slightly moist lasagna. My friends said it was one of the best lasagnas they ever had. Agreed: this recipe takes quite some time to prepare, but I think repetition will help with the efficiency! Thanks for the recipe and introducing me to zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
I made this with a few modifications. I did not add red wine, because I did not have any, and I used ground turkey instead of beef. I spiced the turkey with crushed red pepper in the sauce, to counter act the sweetness of the turkey. It was absolutely delicious. My family was skeptical before they tried it, but it was all gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atrivedi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
Great! I followed others advice and cooked the zucchini before hand. I added a layer of broccoli slaw after the spinach. I didn't add cheese at all because we try to stay away from dairy. I also added garlic and some red pepper flakes to the sauce because we like things a bit spicy. I also used turkey instead of beef. Because it doesn't have cheese, it is not much like a lasagna. However, it is a winner and we really liked it! Healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
LOVE THIS - my family loved it - I even served it to guests, and they loved it. I was nervous about it being watery - so here's what I did: 1. I placed the zucchini with salt on paper towels, let them rest, wiped them well! 2. Sauteed the pepper, mushrooms with a bit of olive oil, then added the drained and squeezed frozen spinach - this made them quite dry. Set aside 3. Whole milk Ricotta with one egg. Set aside 4. Saute onion and garlic - add meat to brown then add paste and sauce - I did NOT add water. 5. Assemble - bake for 30 minutes Let STAND for at least 10 minutes! It was nice and solid and DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer reyes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by betsy
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
Great base recipe. I used the suggestion to bake the cut zucchini for 10min at 350. I used prepared marinara and 93/7 turkey. I added garlic to the sauce mixture, I added the sauce at the end but didn't cook until hot. I don't like adding hot sauce to cold "noodles" I tore 10-12 fresh basil leaves to each layer. It took a lot longer than 45 minutes to cook, I started at 350 for 45 then 375 without foil for another 15. It wasn't watery at all. Light and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
Yum! I didn't even miss the pasta. Do add a couple of chopped garlic cloves when adding the onions and pepper. I used red pepper, not a fan of green pepper. Great dish, will be making it again! ( I did not add any water to sauce)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAmy1033

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cody, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Noodle Zucchini Lasagna

See how to make a meaty, veggie-filled lasagna that’s completely gluten-free.

Eggplant Lasagna

Layers of breaded roasted eggplant with ground beef, tomato sauce, and cheese.

Homemade Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna completely from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States