No-Noodle Zucchini Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This really was delicious. I was nervous about the zucchini instead of noodles, but even my husband agreed it was excellent. We had no problems with the sauce being to watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This dish is delicious! I was surprised it didn't call for a little garlic (which I added 2 tbls), otherwise I think it would have been a little tasteless! The leftovers are even better the next day...just like the traditional lasagna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I can't believe how well this turned out. I sliced my zucchini with the "slicing" side of my cheese grater and they turned out great. I used ground italian sausage instead of ground beef, and dried herbs instead of fresh. I didn't drain the zucchini, but I didn't add any hot water either. I completely forgot the red wine (must have had too much in my glass!) but the dish was really delicious and now I have leftovers for a couple of days. Thanks for a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This recipe was excellent, and we will definitely make it more often. I used the slicing side of a cheese grater to get really thin slices of the zucchini, and then after salting and draining them I blotted them with a paper towel. As others suggested, I also left out the water from the sauce, and had no problems with too much moisture in the lasagna. I also followed the suggestion to put garlic into the sauce, along with a bit of salt and triple the basil (we had a lot of fresh basil to use). I thought the frozen spinach was strong, so I might try fresh spinach next time. We loved the result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I love this recipe. I have made it many times. Skip the salt on zucchini step and don't add any water to the sauce. The zucchini will add the moisture you need. I also add a clove or two of garlic minced, with the onion to the sauce. Great with Italian sausage instead of ground beef. If you like this recipe, check out "Low Carb Luxury.Com".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
344 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This recipe was very tasty. You can substitute your own spaghetti sauce, make sure it's extra thick though because once cooked, the veggies give a lot of juice. The best solution is to serve the dish with a good bread to sop up the juice! Great dish for large group, or for reheating during the week in a busy household. It gets better every meal because the flavors continue to meld. Just serve it with a different side each night like green beans, salad. Excellent dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
What a delightful dish! My family enjoyed this very much. I made as written except with dried herbs and fresh spinach. It takes some time to put together but it's worth it. I liked it even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
great way to use up extra zucchini! mine was not watery at all, but I did pat dry each zucchini before layering in the lazagna and I did a simple sauce (from my own regular lazagna) instead of the one with wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
What a fantastic recipe...this is exactly what I was looking for! I'm trying to cut out processed foods like pasta and I had a bunch of zucchini in my fridge. I can see why you salted the zucchini in the beginning. I didn't and the end result was a bit watery but still delicious and worth it to me to save on the added sodium. I attempted to drain some of the liquid off but realized the mess I was about to make and just enjoyed instead. I used about two cups of leftover sauce that I'd frozen (prepared sauce to which I added ground beef, onions, garlic, zucchini, green pepper, mushrooms and a ton of spices) and made the whole thing in a 9 in square glass pan. I substituted reduced fat ricotta, fresh spinach and canned chopped portabella mushrooms since that's what I had on hand. I had to cook it a bit longer uncovered to get a nice browning of the cheese (about 30 minutes instead of 15) but overall it was fantastic! I even think my husband will like the leftovers despite his aversion to "hippy food!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

No-Noodle Zucchini Lasagna

See how to make a meaty, veggie-filled lasagna that’s completely gluten-free.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Stuffed Zucchini

Baked zucchini boats are stuffed with seasoned ground beef and Italian sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States