No-Noodle Zucchini Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This is as good as any lasagna with noodles. I almost follow the recipe but I use dehydrated mix of wild mushrooms and hydrate them with water. I use the mushroom water in my sauce and reduce until thick. I also add 4-5 cloves of minced garlic. I use a towel to get all the water out of the spinach. I also have tried it with a mix of Italian sausage and it's wonderful. I've made this several times and usually split it into to batches and freeze one. It freezes beautifully. BTW, it takes much longer than 30 minutes to prepare but worth every minute!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I love this recipe and so do my neighbors and family members! Every time I serve it I need copies of the recipe to give out because people love it. This is a great use of the huge zucchinis that come out of the garden. I've made the recipe as written, which is good. I've also added carrot to the meat sauce for some natural sweetness...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Tried this for the first time tonight. It came out pretty good. I left the wine out as well as the water and mushrooms. I think I will add garlic next time to the meet mixture. I didn't use fresh herb and just used the dried ones in my cabinet. I also used low fat cottage cheese instead of ricotta. This was only because I couldn't get low fat ricotta or organic which I also try to get if possible. One note though: I made a small pan of it and halved all the ingredients. There wasn't enough to complete all the layers. Next time I will use the full amount even for a smaller pan. I would also double the cottage cheese/ricotta as I used the full 16 oz in the half recipe and still didn't have enough to complete both layers. If you love cheese then you will also use the full 16 oz for the half recipe as well. Very glad I found this recipe. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I am salt sensitive and this was way to salty for my taste. I will keep looking for another recipe for Zucchini Lasagna. It is one of our favorite vegetable to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Delicious, did not miss the noodles at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I made this for son who cannot eat noodles. He raved about it and I couldn't stop eating it so it passes the test....big time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Noodles? Who cares about noodles after you try this recipe. D-licious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I Really LOVE this dish! I've made it several times and have a few cooks notes to share: ~ keep as much water and grease out of the dish as possible. Do salt the zucchini before hand, and squeeze the thawed spinach so that it's almost dry! ~ I prefer ground turkey to ground beef, and I drain off the rendered water and fat. ~ 15oz of ricotta is not quite enough. I supplement with a few T of low-fat cottage cheese. ~ Italian seasoning makes a great spice substitute. ~Forget the hot water; just keep adding red wine until it thins out to a favorable consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
It was great! I used Prego, and 6 oz of tomato paste, no water, but did add a splash of red wine, and some Morningstar crumbles instead of beef. I salted and baked some of the zucchini slices ahead of time. I also used fresh spinach, probably not as much as I should have. It wasn't too watery at all. I also used reduced fat mozzarella, and I found that 8 oz of parmesan cheese was way too much so I used maybe half-2/3 of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Rosen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No-Noodle Zucchini Lasagna

See how to make a meaty, veggie-filled lasagna that’s completely gluten-free.

Homemade Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna completely from scratch.

Linda's Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy 5-star lasagna with ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States