No-Noodle Zucchini Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Made this for a family get together and it was the first thing gone!! The sauce is really delicious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I made my own sauce. (Their recipe is questionable: who doesn't cook the onions until soft in olive oil before adding the meat, and why no garlic?? What's with the green pepper? This isn't chili. Why sauce and paste? How about good Redpack crushed tomatoes?) I did use salted zucchini, but I didn't add the spinach or mushrooms, because I didn't have them on hand. BUT..key points: the spinach is sure to be watery as they prepare it. Try using a bag of frozen spinach, and cook it in a bowl in the microwave WITHOUT any added water. The sliced mushrooms are going to be slithery and wet if not cooked first. Use a skillet with 1T olive oil and 2T butter over fairly high heat: they will exude their moisture and then brown nicely. Next time, I'm going to sear each side of the zucchini slices in olive oil after salting and before assembling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
this was really yummy. I added some sausage to the sauce, because i do that will almost all of my Italian sauces. I also added in a few artichoke hearts. I will definitely make this again. I also mixed cottage and ricotta cheeses. The sauce was yummy, used it to make a regular lasagna for my husband and son and this one for me since I am counting calories! Definitely will get your veggies in this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naverymom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moberly, Missouri, USA
Living In: La Grange, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This recipe is good but could use some doctoring to be more flavorful. I followed it fairly closely but substituted ground turkey for beef and took measures to avoid the watery mess several reviewers mentioned. I lightly cooked the mushrooms and drained the liquid and the same for the fresh spinach I used. This all adds to the prep time which is already time consuming and I felt the result wasn't worth all the effort. I'd give it 3.5 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This lasagna is so much tastier than the traditional dish using pasta. I used canned sauce, fresh spinach, portabella mushrooms and freshly grated mozzarella. I didn't salt my zuchini first and there was a lot of liquid in the pan but I just poured it off and no one was the wiser. I don't plan on ever buying lasagna noodles again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This was excellent!! I followed the recipe but had to make some changes. I followed other reviewers & baked the sliced zucchini in the oven for 10 mins at 350. I used sweet red peppers as I didn't have green & canned mushrooms as I didn't have fresh. I used a jar of spaghetti sauce as didn't have plain and dried herbs as didn't have fresh. None of these changes made a difference. This was absolutely wonderful and definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This is one of our family favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This is as good as any lasagna with noodles. I almost follow the recipe but I use dehydrated mix of wild mushrooms and hydrate them with water. I use the mushroom water in my sauce and reduce until thick. I also add 4-5 cloves of minced garlic. I use a towel to get all the water out of the spinach. I also have tried it with a mix of Italian sausage and it's wonderful. I've made this several times and usually split it into to batches and freeze one. It freezes beautifully. BTW, it takes much longer than 30 minutes to prepare but worth every minute!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I love this recipe and so do my neighbors and family members! Every time I serve it I need copies of the recipe to give out because people love it. This is a great use of the huge zucchinis that come out of the garden. I've made the recipe as written, which is good. I've also added carrot to the meat sauce for some natural sweetness...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Tried this for the first time tonight. It came out pretty good. I left the wine out as well as the water and mushrooms. I think I will add garlic next time to the meet mixture. I didn't use fresh herb and just used the dried ones in my cabinet. I also used low fat cottage cheese instead of ricotta. This was only because I couldn't get low fat ricotta or organic which I also try to get if possible. One note though: I made a small pan of it and halved all the ingredients. There wasn't enough to complete all the layers. Next time I will use the full amount even for a smaller pan. I would also double the cottage cheese/ricotta as I used the full 16 oz in the half recipe and still didn't have enough to complete both layers. If you love cheese then you will also use the full 16 oz for the half recipe as well. Very glad I found this recipe. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No-Noodle Zucchini Lasagna

See how to make a meaty, veggie-filled lasagna that’s completely gluten-free.

Homemade Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna completely from scratch.

Linda's Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy 5-star lasagna with ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States