No More Salty Easter Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I always say I don't really care for ham and I've never actually made a decent ham in my life. This recipe changed that! My kids requested ham for Christmas dinner - and this was fantastic. The first time I basted it was sorta yucky, the milk had started to curdle, the second time the ham juices had taken over and it was much better. Just a word to the wise, don't expect the juices to be able to be thickened into any kind of sauce or glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I couldnt help but look at the sodium level.Wheres "No more salty"Really high sodium?Over 5,000 mgs per serning.1,000 plus calories?Am I reading this wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I am giving this recipe only 4 stars because I didn't follow it exactly. I only added 1 c. milk, there was 1/4 in. in bottom of pan. I used about 1/4 lb. of brown sugar, it wasn't sticking to the ham very well. And I used 1 can of pineapple, which covered the ham very well. I also patted on a little more brown sugar on top of the pineapple. It turned out DELICIOUS!! The taste was perfect!! Definitely not too salty. Everybody loved it, especially my friend who is on a low sodium diet! I will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hayden, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I am impressed...the ham was delicious!!! Very sweet and moist. I did press in a few cloves before cooking which added a little extra flavor. Highly recommended!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
It was tasty, but did not care for the way the milk cooked at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Fantastic!! I hate buying cooked ham because it's always way to salty. I tried this recipe for Thanksgiving last year and it came out perfect. My whole family loved it. The milk thing made me nervous but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
Wounderful I Everyone loved it I did not get to maranate it but it was still great thanks for the great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Rigby, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
So easy to make, and a lot less salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I love ham but it always leave me thirsty. This recipe really does reduce the salt. Served to 16 for Easter. Several said it was the best ham they had ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nickerson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States