No More Salty Easter Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Made this for Christmas 2008. Did as the recipe said as far as preparing and refrigerating overnight. Had a 12 lb. ham & put it in a Reynolds oven bag. Drained off most of the milk prior to baking for approx. 2-1/2 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
OMG, this was a hit for Christmas day! I only used 2 cans of crushed pineapple as it covered it all very well. Cooked a bit longer to cook all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Wow! This was so good! And it was so easy and inexpensive! We made this instead of buying a HoneyBaked Ham for three times as much and I think it was just as good! (Or maybe even better!) I think marinating it overnight definitely makes the difference. We only needed two cans of the crushed pineapple for the nearly twelve pound ham we got. Easy, cheap, and tastes awesome! The leftovers are the best! Try them mixed in with scrambled eggs! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerivoice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
AMAZING how this works! it had more of a taste like bacon than ham. the milk didn't curdle like others reviewed. but i used 2% milk and not the whole milk. that may have made the difference. this was a southern crowd lover!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puppylove2145

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This was hands down the best ham we have ever had. We served it at our daughter's 1st birthday party, and everyone agreed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This was by far the best ham our family has ever had. It looked pretty gross, but the looks were deceiving. We will definitely make this again if we have to bring ham again to a gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Definitely less salty than regular ham...very tasty! I will make it again. ***So, I did make this again and I have to say that I felt that the crushed pineapple was sort of a waste. It seemed to fall off and therefore I think next time I will use rings and hope that the flavor is still the same for the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
awsome! not salty at all the family enjoyed it very much will make this again and again thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I tasted the ham before cooking and this recipe really did cut the saltiness. I will drain the pineapple in a sieve for 30 minutes or so next time as merely draining in the can leaves too much leftover juice making the pineapple hard to work with and adding too much liquid to bottom of roaster. Otherwise very good and not too sweet at all. note to self: Cooked 8.5 lb ham at 325 (same temp and time as potatoes) for a little over 2 hours. Took foil off after first hour and basted occasionally. Easter 2008 - Served with Scalloped Potatoes and Onions and Gulliver's Creamed Corn, both from here. Also served fresh asparagus, mashed sweet potato and pear, and creamy coleslaw. Everything worked very well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was a hit! Like a knuckle head I didn't reall ALL the instructions prior to making it and discovered it needed to be prepared the day before. So early this morning I carefully covered the ham in milk and added the brown sugar and pineapple. It sat for 4 to 5 hours in the fridge and then I stuck it in the oven. I only had 2 cans of pineapple, but I can see where you would want 3. The sauce it makes while it bakes is yummy. This was really, really good. I got a Costco spiral ham that was tastey. I will not buy the over priced honey baked from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States