No More Salty Easter Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Wow! This was so good! And it was so easy and inexpensive! We made this instead of buying a HoneyBaked Ham for three times as much and I think it was just as good! (Or maybe even better!) I think marinating it overnight definitely makes the difference. We only needed two cans of the crushed pineapple for the nearly twelve pound ham we got. Easy, cheap, and tastes awesome! The leftovers are the best! Try them mixed in with scrambled eggs! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerivoice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
AMAZING how this works! it had more of a taste like bacon than ham. the milk didn't curdle like others reviewed. but i used 2% milk and not the whole milk. that may have made the difference. this was a southern crowd lover!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puppylove2145

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This was hands down the best ham we have ever had. We served it at our daughter's 1st birthday party, and everyone agreed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This was by far the best ham our family has ever had. It looked pretty gross, but the looks were deceiving. We will definitely make this again if we have to bring ham again to a gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Definitely less salty than regular ham...very tasty! I will make it again. ***So, I did make this again and I have to say that I felt that the crushed pineapple was sort of a waste. It seemed to fall off and therefore I think next time I will use rings and hope that the flavor is still the same for the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
awsome! not salty at all the family enjoyed it very much will make this again and again thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I tasted the ham before cooking and this recipe really did cut the saltiness. I will drain the pineapple in a sieve for 30 minutes or so next time as merely draining in the can leaves too much leftover juice making the pineapple hard to work with and adding too much liquid to bottom of roaster. Otherwise very good and not too sweet at all. note to self: Cooked 8.5 lb ham at 325 (same temp and time as potatoes) for a little over 2 hours. Took foil off after first hour and basted occasionally. Easter 2008 - Served with Scalloped Potatoes and Onions and Gulliver's Creamed Corn, both from here. Also served fresh asparagus, mashed sweet potato and pear, and creamy coleslaw. Everything worked very well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was a hit! Like a knuckle head I didn't reall ALL the instructions prior to making it and discovered it needed to be prepared the day before. So early this morning I carefully covered the ham in milk and added the brown sugar and pineapple. It sat for 4 to 5 hours in the fridge and then I stuck it in the oven. I only had 2 cans of pineapple, but I can see where you would want 3. The sauce it makes while it bakes is yummy. This was really, really good. I got a Costco spiral ham that was tastey. I will not buy the over priced honey baked from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I thought this ham was really good. It was a quick and easy recipe. My boyfriend thought it was a bit too sticky and sweet though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
We had this for Christmas dinner, and indeed it was less salty than most hams. We found that it took 2 hours to get warmed up though, which really delayed Christmas dinner. If we make it again, we'll let it warm to room temp before putting in the oven. Then, I think it would take about an hour. We had a bit of trouble getting the brown sugar and pineapple to stick to the ham as one side was very steep. It all worked out fine, though. We enjoyed it for dinner, for several sandwiches, as leftovers, and as ham/bean soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Devils Lake, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States