No More Salty Easter Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Made this today...wonderful! It will be my go-to ham recipe from now on. Note to self--I cooked my small (5.5 lb.) bone-in smoked ham at 350 for 18 minutes per pound, according to package instructions and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
We loved this recipe. Was amazed how the milk took the excess saltiness out of the ham. Served for Easter dinner. One of my guests said it was the best home-cooked ham she'd ever had! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Very yummy, and although I agree it doesn't taste salty, also agree it's not the most healthy meal! Lots of fat and sugar, but I have to say the taste was quite good. My kids quite liked it. I made it according to recipe, except that I ended up putting it in the slow cooker at the end of the cooking time because I needed to leave the house and didn't want it to overcook in the oven. The measurements for the milk, pineapple, and brown sugar really don't matter. Just cover the bottom of the pan as instructed with the milk, and use enough brown sugar and pineapple to cover the ham. Drain the pineapple really well, and pack the brown sugar hard with your hands. I didn't have any trouble getting it to stick. My 3-year-old even helped. Must say, the milk did get a bit weird, sort of curdly after cooked. I might pour off most of the milk before cooking, as suggested by another reviewer, if I did this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
THE BEST MY FAMILY HAS EVER HAD I WILL BE MAKING AGAIN THIS EASTER, THANKS SO MUCH FOR SHARING!VIRGINIA THE AT HOME BAKER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Absolute, Hands-Down, Best recipe ever for a delicious, moist, perfectly salted but not too salty ham! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Cooper

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I actually combined this with the 'Coke' recipe and got great results. Instead of the milk, I scored the ham and poured 1 12oz can of Pepsi Throwback (real sugar) all over the ham. I was prepared to use more, but that was all the 9x13 could safely hold. From there I followed the recipe by packing on the brown sugar (I used dark for more molasses flavor), and then the crushed pineapple. I used a 10lb ham, and it could really only hold 2 cans of the pineapple. I put the foil on so as to help keep the 'coatings', and even secured it with a few toothpicks. I let it sit overnight as directed. The next day I put the foil-covered ham in the oven @350F for 30min, but realized that people weren't going to want to eat in the next 30 min. So, I reduced the time to 275F and baked it for 4 to 4 1/2 more hours, basting with the juices every 100 min. or so (that's as high as my timer would go!) I checked it with the meat thermometer to be sure, and it was good to go. I was worried it might be too sweet, but it was great (and I don't particularly care for ham). We cut it a little on the thick side, like a ham steak, and you didn't even need a knife. My husband and dad loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Made a delicious ham. Even my 6 year old who claims to "hate" ham ate this. Wasn't salty at all, and didn't leave the ham too sweet either. My only thing is with the cooking time-not likely you're going to heat that ham in an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This is the first time I have ever made a ham, and it was delicious. Everyone had rave reviews! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Great idea - thanks. Worked well for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This was so awesome! The flavor of this ham is out of this world. My guests loved it. The drippings in the pan made an excellent "gravy" to top the ham off with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States