No-Mayonnaise Ranch Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Wonderful light dressing. I am okay with mayo dressings but admit they can be heavy and take over the flavor of a salad. But this was a light ranch dressing that let the true flavor of our vegetable salad come through. The only change I did was use fresh chives from the garden, I didn't have dried. I did make it two hours before serving so it had time to marinate. Don't expect this to taste like the famous Ranch dressing in the grocery stores...it is a light ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I followed the recipe to a T, but the taste was off. I think I was expecting something else. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I needed some ranch dressing for a pasta salad and had sour cream and buttermilk to use up. I like it without the mayo but if you are looking for something like the bottled stuff then keep looking. This is refreshing and has a better taste. I did double everything except the sour cream, buttermilk, salt and pepper. I am pretty sure I will be using this recipe again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This is a good substitute for those who don't want to use mayo! It is better after sitting for a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I was disappointed that this did not turn out for me. I made this last night and let it sit overnight to marinate. this morning, it tasted bland so I added a little lemon juice, later on, still bland and missing something ( suspected it was the missing mayonnaise) so I added a pinch or so of white sugar and let it sit some more. It still did not really have that tang, zing or overall taste of ranch. however, I could taste all the fresh herbs and buttermilk was noticeable. This type of dressing may work for some people, as for myself, it just didn't do it for me this time. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Great tasting ranch dressing! So easy to make! Only tweaks made was adding extra of the seasonings, to suit our personal preference. I always feel better about serving homemade dressings rather than store bought varieties that contain HFC, preservatives, artificial color & flavors, and ingredients I can't pronounce. We have used this on salad, as a dip and along side wings. Thank you for posting a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I doubled the amounts of everything except the sour cream and buttermilk (which I didn't have any of so I made it with 1/2 cup milk and 1 tbsp of white vinegar). Best ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sabrinarae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Winooski, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Very, very close to what I was looking for. For us, it needed triple the spices, except the salt and pepper. Very simple and quick to make in a matter of seconds for a woman who's not only cleaning out her fridge and feeling VERY guilty about her food choices for the day. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This was a miss for Hubs and me - as in, we missed the slight tang of the mayonnaise! Adding a squeeze of lemon juice was a real improvement, but without it this was flat tasting - essentially lightly seasoned and thinned out sour cream. If not mayo, add a dribble of vinegar or a squeeze of fresh lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Fabulous dressing! It's great to find a buttermilk ranch dressing that doesn't contain mayo! Even though I like mayo this was a really refreshing change especially if you're looking to cut fat and calories. I used low-fat buttermilk and a light sour cream. I upped the dill a bit and used fresh chives instead of dried. I added a bit of sugar to taste and it as perfect for salads and as a veggie dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States