No-Mayonnaise Ranch Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Fabulous dressing! It's great to find a buttermilk ranch dressing that doesn't contain mayo! Even though I like mayo this was a really refreshing change especially if you're looking to cut fat and calories. I used low-fat buttermilk and a light sour cream. I upped the dill a bit and used fresh chives instead of dried. I added a bit of sugar to taste and it as perfect for salads and as a veggie dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Yummy! We do like Mayo, but I wanted to do a healthier alternative. I actually use 1 cup fat free plain yogurt, and 1/3 cup Light Sour Cream, and 1/3 cup Veganaise grapeseed oil Mayo. (sometimes a splash of buttermilk too) I'm sure it would be great as written though, and the spices are just perfect! My husband likes a thick dressing and LOTS of it. He is also so picky about his Ranch (he was attached to the bottled stuff) But he absolutely LOVES this. He eats it every day at lunch on his Salads. I did NOT want to be feeding him MSG and tons of fat and preservatives everyday, so this recipe is a Lifesaver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Great substitute! I personally do not like mayo and I do not like the taste of the store bought ranch. When preparing this, I did not use salt and I used tarragon instead of chives (I didn't have any). I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I love this! It works well as a salad dressing or dip for veggies. I used it as a dressing for potato salad and it was delicious. When I first tasted it I thought something was missing something. I added 1/2 tsp. of sugar and thought it was perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This was a miss for Hubs and me - as in, we missed the slight tang of the mayonnaise! Adding a squeeze of lemon juice was a real improvement, but without it this was flat tasting - essentially lightly seasoned and thinned out sour cream. If not mayo, add a dribble of vinegar or a squeeze of fresh lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This recipe great but I added about two tablespoons of vinegar and it made it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
this is delicious. It is good with veggies and on salads. It is even good on your fingers. I am going to use it the next time I make hot wings,too. Thank you so much for a recipe for ranch dressing that I don't feel guilty about eating and doesn't pack on the pounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This is a great little mayo-free dressing! In an attempt to eat healthier I was looking for low-fat/fat free dressing recipes and found this one. I made it but didn’t use it for a day, so it set in the refrigerator overnight and that allowed the flavors to combine. I’m really glad to have this recipe; it’s hands down a better option than the low-fat/fat free dressings in the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OStreetGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Love it! Love it! And we like mayo, too. It's a great all around dressing to doctor up or not. Do try it! Leftovers a long time in the fridge, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail A. Guild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Awesome! I actually whipped it up to use as a dipping sauce for Poppers and thought it was much better than I had anticipated. Delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States