No-Mayonnaise Ranch Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I'm on a special diet that limits sugar and carbs for a short period of time. I'll be eating a lot of salad and COULD NOT find a rand dressing without sugar, sucralose, dextrose, maltodextrin, etc... The buttermilk did have some sugar in it but wasn't as bad as store brands. So I only used 1/4th of a cup and ended up with a creamier dressing. I love chives so I doubled up on those and added a bit more onion powder. I love bold flavors. I tried it when first made on some cucumber slices. My sister, who loathes ranch tried it and literally licked the bowl (she's 20 years old) so that says something amazing about this dressing. I also made some great buffalo wings and this was amazing! Even better after sitting in the fridge for awhile. Thanks for the recipe. I'll be making it weekly, even after this diet is over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktau91

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This recipe is exactly what I was looking for! Even with full-fat sour cream the calorie count is very low for a salad dressing. I did not have the dried chives, I will get some and try it again. Also IMO is needs more salt. I thought 1/8 t seemed a bit low, but I left it since I like to make things the way it is written the first time I make it to have a reference point to go by in the future. Other than the salt issue (easily fixed) the flavor is very good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Him

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Summersville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Mountain View, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This was really good, simple, and so much healthier than store bought. I made it yesterday, and today hubby was putting it not only on his salad, but on his green beans too. He doesn't know it's low fat and I'll never tell :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This dressing was so easy and delicious!!!! I read some of the reviews and just tweaked it to my taste. I like lots of dressing on my salads and this recipe allows me to without all the extra added fat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I had high hopes for this recipe after reading the reviews , but ended up being rather underwhelmed. The texture was far too runny for me, so I'd cut back the buttermilk to 1/4 cup next time. Also, the flavor wasn't quite right (perhaps a little bland) so I increased the dill, onion powder and salt all to 1/2 teaspoon. Tasted much better the 2nd day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
simply wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Yum! I actually used fat-free plain yogurt in place of the sour cream and also added a bit of dried basil. My only complaint is that the garlic and onion powders were a bit strong for me, so I would cut those down next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
For those of us who do not like mayo based dressings this is a nice alternative. Initially I found it to be a bit bland for my taste but I added a little Tony Cachere's seasoning salt and let it set overnight. It was great on my baked potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I think this is very good. Just as good as the famous Ranch on the grocery store shelves. The best part is no MSG. Did you know every creamy grocery item on the shelves has MSG. Do you have headaches? It very well may be MSG. I avoid all msg products like the plague.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Made a double batch of this for hubby-he couldn't tell it was low fat. I also used some non-fat yogurt and a little paprika and cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States