No Mayo Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I thought this was a great recipe and a good spin on your everyday tuna salad. I made a smaller batch (two eggs and one 5 oz. can tuna). I did omit the celery because I don't care for it. I ate mine over a bed of green leaf lettuce with some sweet onion dressing and a dash of balsamic vinaigrette dressing. It actually binded together pretty well but another reviewer had a great idea of using fat free plan greek yogurt as a binder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I was looking for a healthy tuna salad recipe with no mayo and this one fit the bill!! :) I was very pleased with this recipe as is and it is also good if tweaked a bit. This time I made it I didn't add hard boiled eggs, or the pickles and celery, instead I only added the sweet pickle juice (Famous Dave's sweet and spicy pickle juice), a little sweet and spicy jalapeno juice, a tiny pinch of crushed red pepper flakes, a little onion powder, a little garlic salt, a tiny drizzle of olive oil and a little drizzle of white vinegar as well as about a 1/2 tsp of white sugar and it was delicious. It was a little sweet, a little tangy and a little spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I added some homemade canned bell pepper relish that we have in addition to the relish. Also adding mustard helps bind it together and adds some zing. I used Mustard Girl Sweet n' Fancy Yellow, but Arizona Heat would have been good too. And seriously, to the person who wrote the negative review because the recipe has no mayo - perhaps don't click on a recipe that states in the title that is has no mayo in it. Good grief. This recipe saved the day when I craved tuna salad, but had no mayo in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Pretty good for a no mayo tuna salad. I did use a couple dollops of thick greek style plain yogurt tho as a kind of glue. I also didnt use sweet pickles, as they had a bit to much carbs (sugar) for my application of this meal, so I added 2 tsp of sugar to sweeten it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewJak

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I love this recipe for including the proper method for hard-cooked eggs, but I think there are too many of them. I used 3 5-oz cans of tuna, all other things as written, and it's still a lot more salad than tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I had this for lunch today only I modified it a little bit. Instead of bread and butter pickles I used Mt.Olive Dill Salad Cubes and omitted the salt. It was very good on whole wheat bread. I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Mebane, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Put it on a bed of spinach and eat as a "salad" (hence the name of this thing) if you have a hard time keeping the ingredients together. If you're goal is eating healthier you could skip the bread anyhow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This tuna salad may not be the best tuna salad ever but since my husband doesn't like mayo, it is great! He really likes it and it's easy to make just a little messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Very easy. I plan on using this recipe and ditch the mayo for good. I did add one can of corn just to add to the crunch. What a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess sandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I thought this was lacking a bit of flavor, so I added more chopped pickle and mustard. i did not have any problem with not having a binder bc I accidently processed the egg and pickle a bit too long, which gave me a weird mix that was kinda chunky but not really, and had some liquid to bind. I might try this again with less eggs--it seemed like too many eggs. Of course, couldve been my fault since I processed so long. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States