No Knead Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I make a lot of bread and this is a go to recipe. I love it using Guiness stout. Thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houghton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Easy and super delicious! Since I generally like a touch more salt in my bread, I upped the yeast and salt both to 2 teaspoons each. I also only add 3 1/2 to 3 3/4 cups of flour into the sponge, reserving the rest for shaping the loaf, or to add to texture as needed. I find that using all four cups of flour can result in a drier, denser loaf than I like. Try making it with an oatmeal stout!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HalfBaked

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Seriously good bread with little to no effort. You just need time to let the dough rise, but you can be doing other things meanwhile. I made this bread with the cheapest full-bodied beer and it was fantastic. I also made it with once with white flour and once with whole wheat--both delicious! I especially love the crunchy outside and soft tender inside. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Veronica Mirenda
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Used beer we weren't crazy for and still loved this easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Mirenda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by underapool
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
This had a wonderful flavor and I would have to agree with Chef John, that it had a subtle hint of sourdough. I used Coors, as that is all I had on hand. I will make this many more times utilizing different beers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Absolutely delicious!!! I shared it with my neighbors and they both loved it!! It will definitely be a repeat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This was my first attempt at a no knead beer bread. I made it with Newcastle Scottish Ale and Lehi Roller Mills Artisan Baking flour, which I've been finding at the 99 Cent Store. It seemed to have an almost rubbery interior texture when it was still warm, which had me worried. My mother said the texture would be fine the next day, and it was. It turned out to be like the best rustic crusty breads from the market, just perfect, and tasted wonderful. I don't know how much the Scottish ale had to do with it, but Newcastle is excellent (and I'm not really a beer drinker) and I'd definitely use it again. It turns out Roller Mills is a high quality bread flour, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALISON17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
This review is for people who had trouble with this recipe. The original approach is sound, but my alternatives may help those who struggled. 1. Ingredients: bread flour instead of AP flour. "Bread machine" yeast instead of active dry yeast; it is much more reliable. I had 1-3/4C beer left over from last night (go figure) and added 1/2C water to that. The extra 1/4C liquid makes a big difference. 2. I didn't bother with the premix. I just put everything in the bowl of a stand mixer and kneaded for 10 minutes. Yes, this is no longer "no knead" bread, but since I have a mixer that will do the job I always knead. Plus, it's essential for developing the gluten structure this loaf needs, imho. 3. Let rise for four hours, not two. Because the beer is cold or at room temperature, it will the rise. 3. I no longer slit my loaves before baking. Helps maintain structure and makes for a more rustic look. 4. I no longer use cornmeal. Parchment paper works better and is far less messy. 5. I made one large loaf. But this recipe should also work for two smaller loaves that would be more manageable. You could divide the dough and bake in loaf pans also, topping each with melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie Tashman
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Easiest bread to make. i bake alot, most of my breads and baked goods leave my house smelling like it was on fire. i burn everything. but not this bread. the dough tasted very beer strong and i was afraid the finished loaf would be too strong, but its not. the bread has a mild beer taste, its super crusty, cooks really well and looks great. i added oregano into the flour before adding the flour into the mixture. then i added a tablespoon of honey. its really good...and huge. next time maybe all make a few smaller loaves. i added a picture but the loaf was so large it didnt fit into square.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Amazing bread! I didn't use cornmeal because I didn't have any, just baked on parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States