No Knead Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I've never made beer bread before, and this recipe was perfect! I had an extra opened beer to use & (as always) waste not, want not :-) I don't have cornmeal so I skipped that step. Also, I don't have a bread machine or warmer so I didn't get a good rise out of the dough before baking. Came out a bit dense but so delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrauLara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Made it using some 5 year old lumpy flour and a can of beer from my shed that was about the same age. I would have thrown them out normally. Wasn't expecting anything thing great but it came out looking a million dollars and the texture of the bread was perfect. I do find the taste effects of the beer a bit overpowering, but i was very pleased with the results. Note; I did check the beer before use and it still tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I make this bread at least once a week. My kids love it, my friends love it, my neighbors love it. The beer you use does make a difference. I am not a drinker so I don't know the first thing about beer but I have found that Guinness makes the best bread. Have also used this to make rolls, bread bowls, and cinnamon bread. All worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
this was VERY VERY good my whole family loved it.thank you chef john for this recipe.i plan on making this again for st.patricks day with a stronger beer and green food coloring. im 20 mins away from S.F. it was cool this morning so i turned on the oven to let the dough rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Windy Yvonne Cleary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Hanafuda
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Easy and delicious. I followed the instructions and the bread came out great! I couldn't wait for the loaf to cool completely, I was too excited. Fresh warm bread is the best bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanafuda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This is an easy (and would have been more so if not for the trip to the store for the beer needed here) and good tasting bread from a very reliable contributor to this site. We made this with more than half white-wheat flour, as that was what we have on hand. As instructed, did not place in loaf pan but cooked on baking sheet, and it held it's form well. The end result was a tasty loaf. I love to try this chef's recipes, as they are dependably and consistently scrumptious. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FluffySama
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I made this with FourLoko Cranberry Lemonade for a party; I was kinda dubious about using that drink, but I promise it won't affect the rating! I wanted to bring something fun and different, and I love baking a good loaf of bread. Making the starter was easy-peasy; I put it to "rise" in the microwave after I boiled some water to give it a nice warm, moist environment. I added in the FourLoko and watched as it all turned pink while I mixed everything else together! I had just a bit too MUCH flour (and I used 16 oz of liquid), but it was easy to get the dough exactly as described. I used my new kitchenaid with the dough hook. I raised the dough in the same conditions as the starter. The dough seemed really flat and kinda diminutive, though. I was worried that there wouldn't be enough! HOLY OMG! It grew a lot on the rise. That made me happy. But what's weird is that the consistency changed. It was difficult to hold, let alone work into a loaf, so I popped it into a loaf pan. Dunno if I did something wrong or not to make it change so much. After the second rise, I didn't score the bread (I wanted it to be crustier) and just popped it in the oven with a pan on the bottom with water in it like the directions said. Other than the fact I wish I'd scored it, it turned out wonderfully; the tang that was there when I tried the dough was gone, the texture is AWESOME (light, fluffy on the inside, crunchy on the out) and it's pink! I'm saving this recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
As an avid bread maker I was excited to try this one. Super easy, didn't take a long time like some other breads I have made, and the texture was perfection. I chose Blue Moon belgian white ale because its a beer my husband and I like though we rarely drink so I wanted to be picky. Beautiful, very large artisan loaf with fluffy center and chewy outside. TIPS: Turn oven on lowest temp and then open the oven door a crack allowing it to cool. Place a hot wet but wrung out towel on top and place in your warm oven and let sit for 30 minutes. This will jump start a heavily loaf of springy bread. Do the same thing for the second rise for 2 hours. For the last rising on the pan before you bake it, turn on your oven and sit the cookie sheet on top of your oven covered loosely with a dish towel. This will give you the best results as the heat from the oven will warm the bottom of the pan and warm your dough giving you the best end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Easy especially with the video. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Just finished making this bread. Made two smaller loaves as there is just my husband and I. This is the most fantastic beer bread I have ever made. It has a nice crispy, thin crust and a awesome flavor, almost a loaf gone already. Defiantly my go to for beer bread. Was thinking of making the next batch into 4 smaller loaves and using for sub sandwiches!! Would lightly grease pan before adding corn meal, though. Emailed it to every one of the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States