No-Knead Artisan Style Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This is just like the NYT recipe I've been using for years, it makes fantastic crusty bread. I cut the salt in half and use the 1/4 tsp yeast that is listed in the original recipe. I have tried countless versions of this recipe. My favorite is 2 cups white flour, 1 cup wheat bran. For the extras I add fresh chopped rosemary and kalamata olives. My family loves it, it is devoured in less than 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This really is a great recipe. I have made this loaf several times each time earning rave reviews. I have not changed anything in this recipe, it's simple and perfect as written. I am starting to feel adventurous about this recipe though and am thinking of adding flax, cranberries or even asiago cheese to the bread. I always let the bread proof in a ceramic bowl (never plastic or steel) and always use a cast iron pot for baking in. GREAT RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUV_2_B_MUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Oh man this was delicious! I used whole wheat flour and added several cloves of garlic. So happy to have found this recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyfuljoyous
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
The bread was good but I thought it would be a denser bread, it was very airy or as my husband described it, spongy. The flavor was good. I did have issues with it rising during the 2 hour rise, maybe I needed to let it rise longer would that change the texture? The trick with using parchment paper was great when the bread was done just pulled it out of the pan and pulled off the paper, very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made this as is without the herbs because I just wanted plain, crusty bread. I also formed my dough into a log as best as I could and baked it that way with a little ramekin filled with water for steam, just to make sure the crust got crisp! My bread came out with a nice, crunchy, crust but aside from the crust I was really dissapointed with this bread. It was way, way, way too salty... 1t of salt would have been plenty... even 1 1/4t would have been better. And the yeast taste was completely over powering. It tasted the way beer smells to me, only stronger. I love yeast breads and artisan style ones have always been my favorite, but I think there really is too much yeast in this recipe for it to sit as long as it does... I had really high hopes for this recipe but unfortunately It was a waste of my ingredients and especially my time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This is an awesome recipe!! I love it, make it all the time. I don't take the dutch oven out either, leave it in so its nice and hot! I don't knead or touch the dough after mixing etc.. Faithful loaf! Never have to worry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Just made this bread & it turned out really good. I added cinnamon & raisins to the dough. I also baked it on my clay pizza plate & covered it with a dutch oven & it turned out just right. I will make this again & try other spices the next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litehuslvr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: North Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
So delish! Lots of air bubbles. Great flavor. I already started it again for tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I agree with the reviewers who say NOT to take the pan out of the oven, but just to pour the bread into the pan. If you don't have the right pan--and you need one with a thick surface to prevent the bottom from burning, you can pour the roughly shaped dough onto a preheated pizza stone, and invert a large pot over the top. Still get the amazing crust, and the minimal handling keeps the awesome texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I have been making no-knead bread 3 times a week for over a year - love it! I always thought that getting the dough from a towel into the pot a really clunky process, so I started using baking parchment and got myself a La Cloche. I rip off a piece of parchment a bit bigger than the bottom of the La Cloche, sprinkle it with flour or semolina and place the formed dough on it. Cover with a tea towel and allow it to rise while the La Cloche is preheating. What is great about this is that when the dough is ready to bake you can just lift the parchment and set it into the bottom of the La Cloche and put the lid on it. The parchment will stick out, but it does not affect the baking process at all. Sometimes the risen dough is so slack that I have to slide a pizza peel under the parchment to lift and transfer the loaf to the pot, but it works great, beautiful, high loaves of bread, no flipping or mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States