No-Knead Artisan Style Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I have been looking for a recipe for bread with this consistency for a while. Crusty on the outside and chewy on the inside with lots of flavor. Very good and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
excellent bread. I love the crust. Tastes like great grams farm bread. I make it in the same bowls she used. I doubled the recipe this time the last time the loaf was gone before I could blink! if you feel the dough is to watery add more flour, too dry more water. Part of making bread is using your sight and the feel of the dough. sticky like a marshmallow you break apart in your hands. dry is like leather so you add a bit more water. I have been making bread for over 4 decades now if it doesn't work its not the recipe. The weather also plays big in making bread and the altitude at which you live.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alpine, New York, USA
Living In: Constantia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
this is a great recipe. I've been baking it plain for quite awhile, but I never thought about adding herbs. Now that I've found it here, I've added the herbs, as in your recipe and it's even better. I only use 1 tsp salt, though as I try not to eat too much sodium. Next, I'm going to experiment with chopped olives and garlic, and Ancho pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This is just like the NYT recipe I've been using for years, it makes fantastic crusty bread. I cut the salt in half and use the 1/4 tsp yeast that is listed in the original recipe. I have tried countless versions of this recipe. My favorite is 2 cups white flour, 1 cup wheat bran. For the extras I add fresh chopped rosemary and kalamata olives. My family loves it, it is devoured in less than 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This really is a great recipe. I have made this loaf several times each time earning rave reviews. I have not changed anything in this recipe, it's simple and perfect as written. I am starting to feel adventurous about this recipe though and am thinking of adding flax, cranberries or even asiago cheese to the bread. I always let the bread proof in a ceramic bowl (never plastic or steel) and always use a cast iron pot for baking in. GREAT RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUV_2_B_MUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Oh man this was delicious! I used whole wheat flour and added several cloves of garlic. So happy to have found this recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyfuljoyous
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
The bread was good but I thought it would be a denser bread, it was very airy or as my husband described it, spongy. The flavor was good. I did have issues with it rising during the 2 hour rise, maybe I needed to let it rise longer would that change the texture? The trick with using parchment paper was great when the bread was done just pulled it out of the pan and pulled off the paper, very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made this as is without the herbs because I just wanted plain, crusty bread. I also formed my dough into a log as best as I could and baked it that way with a little ramekin filled with water for steam, just to make sure the crust got crisp! My bread came out with a nice, crunchy, crust but aside from the crust I was really dissapointed with this bread. It was way, way, way too salty... 1t of salt would have been plenty... even 1 1/4t would have been better. And the yeast taste was completely over powering. It tasted the way beer smells to me, only stronger. I love yeast breads and artisan style ones have always been my favorite, but I think there really is too much yeast in this recipe for it to sit as long as it does... I had really high hopes for this recipe but unfortunately It was a waste of my ingredients and especially my time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This is an awesome recipe!! I love it, make it all the time. I don't take the dutch oven out either, leave it in so its nice and hot! I don't knead or touch the dough after mixing etc.. Faithful loaf! Never have to worry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Just made this bread & it turned out really good. I added cinnamon & raisins to the dough. I also baked it on my clay pizza plate & covered it with a dutch oven & it turned out just right. I will make this again & try other spices the next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Hengen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: North Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States