No-Knead Artisan Style Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
The key to this bread (in my opinion) is to use the cast iron or heavy covered pot (one time I used a roasting pan and it didn't work well). The dough really is gooey like others have posted, but if you use a healthy dusting of flour, you'll be able to move it to the towels (be sure there's plenty of flour under the bread while it rises) and then kind of dump it or roll it into the heated dutch oven. I only left it in for 30 min covered and 10 uncovered and it came out wonderfully crusty on the outside and chewy inside. Awesome recipe. I've shared it with friends and they rave over it too. No more $3 loaves of tuscan bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
mine also flopped. It never got to a bread dough consistency- just a sticky goopy mess- no structure. Stuck to board, towel, hands...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Ok, so I bake bread a lot (whole wheat & multi grains) and have wanted to try some Artisan type bread. When I put this recipe together yesterday I was not sure how it would turn out. I had read many of the glowing reviews. I just took it out of the oven and I can't wait to share it at book club tonight. If it tastes like it looks I will be the Queen of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Warfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I consider myself a decent baker, but I try not to venture far from the recipe because baking can be a fine art and I'm not accomplished enough to experiment. After letting the dough rest the first time for 24 hours, it came out of the bowl as a gooey, glop. The consistency was so wet, I couldn't fold or stretch or tuck. I refused to give up so soon. I added enough flour to get it to a manageable consistency and continued with the process, but the end result was spongey, not what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McKeown Schafer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I always make a 6 cup version and use my 10 x 4 cast iron pot. This way this dough is forced to gain height while cooking. Here's my initial mix - the rest is common to all recipes. 1. Proof the batter by mixing 1 teaspoon of rapid rise yeast and 1/4 C sugar in a large bowl. 2. Add 8 oz of 115 degree spring water (100-120 ok). 3. Whisk thoroughly and cover for 15 minutes to get foamy (ensures yeast is not deceased). 4. Add 10 more oz of the water (warm is fine) and 3 tablespoon salt (I prefer sea) - you can adjust the salt and yeast amount for the next time. 5. Start adding the 6 cups of high quality bread flour - first 3 cups can be just dumped in - and mix thoroughly. The add a cup at a time but mix thoroughly for 3-4 minutes before adding more flour - this is essential to observe how the mixture is hydrating since kitchen humidity varies. 5th cup is the same process but 6th becomes the part where you need more touch. So the last cup is a 1/4 cup at a time -mixing by hand for a few minutes each step until tacky and pulls away from side but still a bit sticky on your hands. More flour only if absolutely needed - wet is better than dry. Cover with a wet cloth and into cold oven with light on for the first several hours. I add a head of chopped roasted garlic and 1 C of grated asiago before 2nd rise for special meals. The probe thermometer inserted when lid off is essential to get to 195-200
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Made this for the 1st time today. It was delicious. The best bread I have ever had homemade. It tasted like I just went to the bakery. I read all the reviews and did what they suggested... not to take out the baking dish but to just "dump" the dough in while still in the oven. I used a stone roaster. I did spray the pan and sprinkled corn meal in the bottom. Definately will be making this again. It was a hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kk8miller
Home Town: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Omgoodness this is amazing! It was my 2nd time at ever making bread in my life. First time was a fail but it wasn't this recipe. Now I did pray an awful lot as I stared over the dough since 11AM yesterday so the big guy may have had a lot more to do with it actually working. This will be made weekly at my house and maybe as a surprise for my relatives. Well done and thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CAROLC80
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This bread is amazing. It is the famous NY Times No-Knead Bread. I didn't add the herbs. Worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLC80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
WOW! Good stuff! I am not a huge bread fan, but this was great! I used dried rosemary, thyme, and some caraway seed, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
A very easy bread and astonishingly tasty given that there is no kneading. The long slow rise is the ticket to the delicious flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States