No-Knead Artisan Style Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
WONDERFUL bread! Mine ended up sitting for closer to 36 hours - just because I didn't have time to bake it. I used a silicon spatula to gently scrape the dough onto a well floured silicon mat. Gently floured the top of the dough, it is sticky and gently stretched into a rectangle and then folded in thirds, like a business letter. Then folded again to form a square and used floured hands to gently turn it into a round. I let it rise on the mat, covered with a cotton tea towel for 2 hours. I used a round enamel covered Le Creuset - pre-heated and followed the directions for baking. It had a wonderful crisp chewy crust and a soft tender, holey crumb. It rose beautifully and was just the most perfect golden loaf. Thanks - this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
First attempt of bread making, except quick breads. Should have read editors note before baking. Raised about 3 in. in middle, but favor was great. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 52GLASSACT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlowton, Montana, USA
Living In: Sumner, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Delicious and easy, although somehow I failed to notice that it needed to sit for 24 hours! The entire time I kept checking it and thinking the dough/batter looked like a terrific mess, and it was too salty, and I was sure I was wasting perfectly good ingredients and time, then it turned out fabulous! I added ground flax seed (@ 1/4 cup) so I could claim it was healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
too salty, next time I will cut the salt to 1 1/2 teaspoon or 1 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I had such high hopes with this recipe and don't know where I went wrong. After mixing the ingredients, I thought it looked rather wet but wanted to follow the recipe. After the suggested 24 hours, it did rise and have the air bubbles. However, There was no way I could even simply shape it into some type of loaf without continuously adding flour. Unfortunately, after doing that it never rose after the second rise time. I baked it up anyhow and it was a flat, heavy, dense loaf. The flavor was not bad, so I am going to try to salvage it into homemade croutons. Wish this would have worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Alice Gallagher
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This is so wonderfully tasty and so incredibly easy, even without the herbs. I feel guilty taking credit for this bread because it was so simple. Make it! You'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Gallagher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Townsend, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Made recipe with only 1/4 tsp of yeast and it is fantastic. I've been making bread for forty years and never had tried anything like this. It won't replace my regular bread recipe but I will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Very easy. I live in a very dry climate and my dough was a little thicker than described. I let the dough raise for 16 hours in the mixing bowl, then placed it in a 1 1/2 quart French White Corningware casserole dish that was sprayed with Pam and let it raise for another 2 hours. I didn't preheat the dish, just placed it, covered, in the preheated 450F oven for 30 minutes, then took off the cover and baked it another 20 minutes uncovered. I had no problems getting it out. It has a nice crunchy crust with a slightly salty taste. It is good with cheese and goes well with soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Photo by yoli
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I made few no knead bread in the past and this recipe is the best . Easy and simple. Bread came out very very crusty in the outside and soft and chewy in the inside, it looked similar to bread from fancy NY bakeries . I read all reviews and comment and I decided Just gonna do exact recipe steps . Other reviews that give bad review basically seem not familiar with baking sticky dough . So that my advice: Don't worry how sticky it is just flour your hand and don't worry how it shape look pre baking , just dump the dough in the Iron cast dutch oven pan and it will shape it self .(yes and I said dump it) I read other review say no need to cover the pan and I disagree . The reason you cover it because of the steam that going to drip back in to the dough and give the great crisp bakery style we looking for . If you ever see the Lodge Iron Cast cover u will understand the kisses look like dots and that is mainly for the steam to fall back to the pan . Other review give the recipe very poor review because the dough did not rise ,that a bad reason to give bad review , your yeast in fault thats why not working or you put hot water instead of warm which burn the yeast so go buy new yeast and try again .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yoli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Inside very soft, crunchy on the outside. I placed a cup of water inside the oven, also I sprayed the bread with water the last few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States