No-Knead Artisan Style Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Excellent Recipe! Like others have said- it is a VERY soupy dough. I made the dough last night around 7:30 and baked it today at about 4:30. I tried to follow the directions in the recipe and poured the dough out on a floured board to "form" it into a loaf, but it was a runny blob. Soooo- i scooped it up and put it back into a greased bowl and let it sit for another couple hours to rise again. To bake it I used my ceramic dutch oven and i did preheat it. It turned out fantastic! I am excited to make it again and experiment with roasted garlic and maybe even some cubed cheese. GREAT recipe- thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AZ93
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
WOW!!!!! This bread is absolutely blow your mind delicious. I want to start by saying thanks to Baking Nana for her helpful review and advice on the Buzz. Doubt I would have had the courage to attempt this without her. My biggest concern when making this was how very, very wet the dough was. See the photos I submitted of the process. I see a few people tried to add more flour after the second rise. Don't do it! Trust me it will turn out fine. I added 3.5 cups of flour at the beginning because I was so worried (1 cup was whole wheat flour) and my dough was still soupy. There was no way I could fold it or mold it into a ball. After 36 hours for the first rise (I figured it would give a more yeasty flavor if i let it sit longer and it did, but mostly I left it that long because Baking Nana did. lol) I just used a rubber spatula to kind of slop it onto the parchment paper. I have to confess I was worried. But following the directions exactly this bread came out full of beautiful big holes and is the most delicious bread I have ever had. I do strongly recommend using parchment. Put the dough onto that after first rise, and back into the bowl for the next rise. Then just use the parchment to transfer the dough into the hot casserole dish/Dutch oven. I think you might lose some of that second rise if you try to spoon it from one to the next. I guess I've said enough. Just make this bread, and know you are doing it right! Thanks SO much for posting Jewissa!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
WONDERFUL bread! Mine ended up sitting for closer to 36 hours - just because I didn't have time to bake it. I used a silicon spatula to gently scrape the dough onto a well floured silicon mat. Gently floured the top of the dough, it is sticky and gently stretched into a rectangle and then folded in thirds, like a business letter. Then folded again to form a square and used floured hands to gently turn it into a round. I let it rise on the mat, covered with a cotton tea towel for 2 hours. I used a round enamel covered Le Creuset - pre-heated and followed the directions for baking. It had a wonderful crisp chewy crust and a soft tender, holey crumb. It rose beautifully and was just the most perfect golden loaf. Thanks - this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
First attempt of bread making, except quick breads. Should have read editors note before baking. Raised about 3 in. in middle, but favor was great. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 52GLASSACT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlowton, Montana, USA
Living In: Sumner, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Delicious and easy, although somehow I failed to notice that it needed to sit for 24 hours! The entire time I kept checking it and thinking the dough/batter looked like a terrific mess, and it was too salty, and I was sure I was wasting perfectly good ingredients and time, then it turned out fabulous! I added ground flax seed (@ 1/4 cup) so I could claim it was healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
too salty, next time I will cut the salt to 1 1/2 teaspoon or 1 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I had such high hopes with this recipe and don't know where I went wrong. After mixing the ingredients, I thought it looked rather wet but wanted to follow the recipe. After the suggested 24 hours, it did rise and have the air bubbles. However, There was no way I could even simply shape it into some type of loaf without continuously adding flour. Unfortunately, after doing that it never rose after the second rise time. I baked it up anyhow and it was a flat, heavy, dense loaf. The flavor was not bad, so I am going to try to salvage it into homemade croutons. Wish this would have worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Clarinalice
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This is so wonderfully tasty and so incredibly easy, even without the herbs. I feel guilty taking credit for this bread because it was so simple. Make it! You'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Townsend, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Made recipe with only 1/4 tsp of yeast and it is fantastic. I've been making bread for forty years and never had tried anything like this. It won't replace my regular bread recipe but I will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Very easy. I live in a very dry climate and my dough was a little thicker than described. I let the dough raise for 16 hours in the mixing bowl, then placed it in a 1 1/2 quart French White Corningware casserole dish that was sprayed with Pam and let it raise for another 2 hours. I didn't preheat the dish, just placed it, covered, in the preheated 450F oven for 30 minutes, then took off the cover and baked it another 20 minutes uncovered. I had no problems getting it out. It has a nice crunchy crust with a slightly salty taste. It is good with cheese and goes well with soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States