No-Knead Artisan Style Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Yum! I make this into pizza dough (as well as the regular delicious bread), I just decreased the water to 1 1/2 cups. I let it sit overnight, then when I run home for lunch I spread it out to a 12 inch circle (it spreads out perfectly! Not too sticky, not too thick, don't even need a rolling pin), so it gets a few hours to rise a bit more before dinner time. Then spread it with toppings and bake! We used fresh ground whole wheat flour and you can't even tell it's healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Very good! Sure don't have to work very hard at all for this good bread. Came out just fine; don't over think, don't worry about it being a very wet dough. Did not stick to my cast iron dutch oven at all - I used a sprinkle of corn meal at the bottom. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Hume Turnbull

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
TIt didn't work for me at all! I followed the recipe's directions, too! It was watery. I'll keep with my other bread recipes in the future. Sorry! It certainly smelled good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I love this bread, its the best substitute I've tried so far for using a proper bread starter like sourdough. I love the big holes it gets. I pretty much followed the recipe to the letter, except I used a little less salt and placed my dough onto a greased piece of parchment covered with plastic wrap instead of towels (from baking nana's blog). The only issue I had was mine didn't really form a ball, it was too liquid for that so it really slowly splurged out, but that didn't seem to affect the bread in any way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Better luck next time. My bread was very flat. I tried using it for sandwiches and it was too thin. It also broke in my toaster. Wish the recipe gave the exact measurements of how much extra flour to add. Looks like other reviewers had to adjust this recipe also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This bread is so easy to put together. One of the easiest loaves I've made. Great crusty exterior!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Found out about this intriguing method of baking bread through Baking Nana's blog (thanks.) I made this twice; the first time I had trouble with shaping my dough into a ball, as others did. I think I probably used a bit too much flour trying to get it round (fore it was just a blob when starting.) Turned out a good loaf, but not what I knew it should be. The second time; I only added 1 1/3 cups + 2 tb. warm water. I read somewhere (I think Martha Stewart) that humidity can play a part in a bread like this. This time things went much better. I preheated my small enamel pot and when ready to bake, I sprayed with non-stick spray. Carefully I added my dough. When the last baking was ready, I sprinkled with a bit of flour and smoothed for the final baking to make an incredible bakery look. The insides were perfect and full of holes; just like an expensive loaf should be. I cut the salt the second time to half for us and was just right. Thanks for the recipe. Will certainly make now and then with a these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Delicious bread. I tried a different cooking method for fun and cooked this in the crockpot. Came out nice, but did take quite a bit longer.. was very moist when cooked that way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
A bread recipe with 50% water to flour is an unheard of ratio for bread. With the adoring review of poster AZ93 I just had to try for myself. This turned out a big mess! The mixture is one step above flour water. Why should a recipe need this much effort for proper results? I dumped in extra flour at the beginning after reading the posts. The recipe results were hard bread and a burnt up pot. There are better recipes out there that don't require tons of modifications to ingredients or instructions. The loaf is way to small anyhow. European style bread is much easier than the fore thought this recipe entails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
OMG...what a wonderful recipe. So easy to make and absolutely delicious. This bread has a crisp chewy crust...great for olive oil dipping. We loved it so much the next day I had to bake another! If anyone is leary about making bread...please give this recipe a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eagle, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States