No-Knead Artisan Style Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by candice
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I love this bread! I use 3 c flour, 1/4 tsp yeast, 1 & 1/4 tsp salt and 1 & 1/2 c water. Otherwise the same method. Always truns out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dryden, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfectly. After 24 hours of rising the dough was a perfect texture for forming into a ball. Will be making this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by freewill2112
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I also have used this recipe for a couple years with great success. The only diff is I use 1/2 tsp. instant yeast, 1 tsp salt, 1 1/2 cups water. This is more in line with the Sullivan St. bakery recipe. I've included a pic of my version of cranberry walnut bread using this recipe. Simply add cran. and walnuts to flour mixture, then add water. Follow directions as given. I've had luck with a shorter proofing time also....12-15 hrs depending on the season. To make the baguette pictured, I placed the dough on a hot pizza stone and covered it with a loaf pan. Shorter baking time, that's all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This turned out lovely. Everyone commented on the sourdough taste. Was easy to do too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This bread has a great flavor, however, I cooked mine in a cast iron dutch oven as directed and it tasted too smoky for me because the cast iron was too hot after preheating that long. Nex time I think I will try baking it on my pizza stone and see if it works better. It is an incredibly easy recipe and one worth trying again. I just want to bake it in a different manner next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
EXCELLENT BREAD!! Wonderful taste and texture! I added twenty turns of peppercorn and 1/2 tsp of minced garlic along with the recommended rosemary, thyme and sage. I mixed all ingredients in the dough cycle of the bread machine - 30 min cycle. When the 30 min dough cycle was completed I placed the dough on a lightly greased parchment paper to rise - let rise for 5 hours with a piece of parchment paper on top. Preheat oven 450 for 30 minutes with a cloche or covered dutch oven inside. After the 30 minutes of preheating I gently lifted the bread dough and placed inside of heated covered cloche and placed the top on. Baked for 30 minutes with the top on then took off cover and baked 12 min to get bread golden brown. PERFECT!! The outside was crispy and the inside was soft and chewy. Will Definatly make Again and Again!! NO NEED TO WAIT THE 18 TO 24 HOURS unless you want a more sourdough taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This was fast easy and fantastic. I did not use towels, as I did not have any that would work. I used greased foil and cling wrap lose over the top; to allow time for the dough to proof. Yum-O
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beavercreek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This bread didn't work out for me. It either didn't rise or I missed the rise. I baked it anyway...it turned out about 3 inches high and it tasted ok when it was fresh out of the oven...soft on the inside and crusty on the outside. But after it sat for a few hours it became soggy and dense. I'll try again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aitkin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I Use this recipe all the time. Usually 2 1/2 cups APF 1/2 c wheat flour. 1 1/4 c water. I let mine sit for 12 hours then 2. Ive made about 30 of these loaves over the last 3 months. Jalapeño cheese, rosemary garlic, Hearty (with germ, bran, flax and nuts). Awesome bread with no work. Comes out looking and tasting better than any artisan bought bread out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I baked this bread today and everyone said it was the best bread I've ever made. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by northquabbin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States