No-Knead Artisan Style Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Was looking for recipe for Pugliese bread. Made this last week just as directed. Perfect! Used my Lodge 6-quart enamel cast iron Dutch oven. So surprised it didn't stick. Going to make another loaf this week. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack Buchanan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
LOVELOVE this bread. I don't buy loaves at the store after making this recipe because we simply do not eat them. It was very easy to make, and completely customizable as it lends itself to many spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicha Stenberg-Johnson
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
First attempt at making bread ever! I used bread versus all-purpose flour. In honor of my grandmother, I rubbed a stick of butter over the entire loaf of bread as soon as it came out of the oven. This made the crust FANTABULOUS! Half the loaf is gone already; I danced I was so excited!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Truly a great bread. I like it with the extra salt. So good - it reminds me of the great breads of Europe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Best bread recipe I've made to date
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fluffy
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Hot out of the oven WOWWOW...... Delishhhhh Followed recipe as is I used a Corning ware casserole dish and my loaf slid out crispy outside airy inside What can I say a wonderfull bread Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I have made this recipe many times, and once you get the hang of how the dough should look and feel when you're mixing it, it becomes a really reliable recipe. Here are a few tips I've learned: 1. The brand of flour that you use REALLY makes a difference. Spend some more money on a good flour, and it makes all the difference between a flat shapeless thing and a round plump loaf. I suspect that many of the bad reviews are due to using cheap flour, which just doesn't bind and hold it's shape as well. 2. Instead of flouring everything, I learned that buttering a clean bowl and letting your dough rise in that overnight allows it to release from the bowl without popping the bubbles (olive oil won't work, I tried). I drop it out onto parchment paper, let it rest 30 minutes while my pot preheats then put the parchment paper and all in my preheated pot. Super easy. 3. Also, you can use this recipe for pizza crust. Mix it up as normal, then stretch it out onto a buttered pizza pan (not stone) right away, no rise time in the bowl. Brush with olive oil so it doesn't dry out, and let it rise for a few hours. Top with whatever you want and then bake near the bottom of the oven at 450 for 12-20 minutes. Yum! If you like a crispy bottom, prevalent the crust for about 7-10 minutes before adding the toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I use only ¼ t. yeast and 1 t. salt. But what I want to say is that this can be baked another way, and also that It can be stored in the refrigerator and used in stages. I didn't have the right kind of pot to use for it when I first tried it, so I baked it on a pizza stone, and I never looked back. It bakes in 20-25 minutes on the stone and it's great. I have also found that you can keep the dough in the refrigerator and cut off a hunk of it and bake it days later, and it is still great. So if you can't use up a whole loaf right away, you can bake small loaves instead over several days. I finally bought a pot to just dedicate to making the bread the way the recipe says, but I went back to using the stone because it seems easier than getting the dough in that very hot pot and then baking it so long, first covered, then uncovered, etc. I admit It's a little awkward to get the dough onto the baking stone - it is very wet and sticky. I put a lot of cornmeal on the peel, let the dough rise for the second time on the peel itself and take a dough scraper to make sure it is not sticking before I shove it onto the stone. It's quick and stunningly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jinjin
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I did exactly the recipe says. Turned out perfect! Let it stand in the room temperature for 18 hours, risen more than doubled. Love the smell of herbs while it baking, taste very good! The wet dough doesn't bother me since i make my pizza dough exactly the same way(texture of wetness) except i put 1/2 cup oil in the dough. Make sure your yeast is alive. A few weeks ago I went to my friend's house make some dough for baking, turned out her yeast was not alive after waiting for over 2 hours! I went to store bough new package of yeast dough risen within 90 minutes in the oven! Lesson leaned! Pre-proof your yeast all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jinjin
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I have made this recipe for the last three days trying to perfect it for our taste.Although it is a simple recipe supposedly, I think the amount of flour added after the initial set time is critical.I think it's a touchy feeling thing as my first loaf came out just fine although to dark so I cut the the time back to 12 minutes for browning. I cooked in in my clay pampered chef chicken cooker. Perfect for holding the moisture in. The second loaf I added garlic and herbs and cooked it in my iron skillet with a tin pie pan on top, I also used a little less flour. It cooked perfectly and came out of the pan perfectly. Just when I thought I had mastered this recipe, I baked my third loaf again trying to use what I thought was the best pan for sealing in the moisture. (clay pot)I used less flour and more or less poured it in the pot. Well it came out more like fachacia bread. very tasty, but not sandwich quality.I back to the drawing board.I needed more flour and I'm sure I'll get it eventually:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States