No Guilt Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Ok. So no it doesn't tastes like a New York Style cheesecake but its pretty good for a low calorie version of a cheesecake. I am not a patient person, so I did not wait 2 days for my yogurt to get like cream cheese(that just sounds crazy to me!). Instead, I used plain Greek yogurt(I removed the watery part from the top first and I also used 16 oz of yogurt instead of 32 since I wasn't going to wait 2 days for it to reduce). This was my only substitution, but I also added 2 more ingredients to make this work. I added 1 teaspoon of almond extract (because I love it but you don't need to add this) and 2 tablespoons of gluten free all-purpose flour (to help it set but you can also use regular all-purpose flour). I put all the ingredients in a blender and poured it over the crust and baked it for 60 minutes instead of 70. It came out perfect! No cracks. I may try it with crushed almond crust next time to make it completely gluten free and I may replace the white sugar for agave to make it healthier. Also, for those of you who thought it was too sweet, I suggest tasting the batter as you slowly blend in the sugar so that it comes out to your taste. Good luck!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Wow, I have finally found a way to enjoy lactose-free delicious cheesecake! A lot of whole-milk yogurt is lactose free, and some brands are certified to be lactose-free. This is so much better than soy-based versions. The texture is perfect, and it is tart and rich as cheesecake should be. I did not add the sugar to the crust (I think the graham crackers are already sweet enough), and I used plain instead of vanilla yogurt (all I had). Finally, I used a 24 oz container of yogurt, and cooked it in a glass pie plate (just worked with what I had) and it all worked perfectly (decreased cooking time a bit). I highly recommend this, whether you are avoiding lactose or extra fat/saturated fat! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Not gonna lie...I was amazed how delicious this was. I had vanilla yogurt that I knew I couldn't eat completely before it went bad and was looking for a delicious recipe that was NOT another smoothie. I hit on this and decided to give it a shot and man, am I glad I did. I strained my yogurt for 48 hours. Great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Joy Park

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This recipe provides the base, so that people like me can tweak a bit to adjust to my flavor. 1) I used Oikos Greek fat free yogurt, and I drained for 24 hours. I guess because of it's rich texture, I really thought this was cream cheese! 2) I mixed in little bit of fat free cream cheese. So it was 7/10 yogurt 3/10 cream cheese. 3) I used oreo waffles, since that's what I had in my hand, and of course, without the cream filling it's only 30 calories for 2 waffles. Yay!! 4) I used sweetner in replace of sugar to reduce some more calories. Then I had some left over macademia brittle, so I grinded some to blend it in to the yogurt mixture. Ok, right now, it's in the cooling stage, but can't wait to eat them! I've tried, but it's nice and firm!! Nothing like eggy with greek yogurts!! Thank you for the recipe!!! I will make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONESHOTCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Such an awesome cake. Tastes good and doesn't have lot's of flour and fat in it. And so easy! We could not wait for it to cool down. I added cocoa powder to the yogurt mixture. I never use cookie crumbs really. Will definetly make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cher_007

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I would try Greek yogurt with this. It would cut down on sugar carbs a bit. Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I used fruit yogurt, 3 eggs, half cup of sugar and a different crust recipe. I strained the yogurt for a few days, and that still wasn't enough because the end product was soggy and 'fell' when left to cool. The taste was far from good. Edible, but not something we liked. Wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Good recipe – more like an eggy soufflé to me than a cheesecake. I didn’t have graham cracker crumbs – only a box of ginger snaps – so my crust was ginger snap based. Also – I used the full fat cream top French Vanilla yogurt – but I added 2 tbsp. of sour cream and 1 tsp. of raspberry extract to it before draining it (I used cheese cloth – not paper towels). Then – when I mixed the eggs, sugar, and yogurt curd together - I added more raspberry extract instead of the vanilla. OH – Don’t waste ANY of the liquid drained from the yogurt!!!!! Use in your favorite pancake, French toast, milkshake, or popsicle recipe!!!! Personally, I prefer "Joey's Cheesecake" recipe over this one - it uses a combo of cream cheese and yogurt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I liked this! I took the advice and waited 48 hours to let the yogurt sit. It came out perfect, but had a bit of spongieness to it. I became inspired and in the process of tweaking the recipe with Strawberry Yogurt, lime juice in place of vanilla, and a bit of salt. Trying to get a Strawberry Margarita Guilt Free Chessecake. Ambitious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geek.equals.hot

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wilmette, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I made 2 cheesecakes (used splenda and ff cream cheese) from this as I didn't have an adequately deep shell. When leaving them in the oven for the specified time, they cracked and were a bit tough...will decrease or eliminate this next time. Any thoughts would be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dravosburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States