No Frying Eggplant Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This is an excellent recipe! It was absolutely delicious! A few things that I would recommend - I made for 6 people and I probably should have used from 1 - 1 1/2 cups of dried bread crumbs instead of 2 cups (threw away probably at least 3/4 cup of crumbs). Also, I am shocked that it only calls for 1 jar of Ragu sauce. This is definitely not enough sauce to cover this recipe. This recipe SHOULD call for a jar and a half, minimum. Thankfully I had bought another jar to cover all the layers anyway. I used Ragu 6 cheese and the flavor was perfect for this dish. Overall, very wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This is a keeper for me because it is quick and easy and I like the idea of the no frying as it is a healther version. I did have to use 2 jars of sauce. I like Bertoli garlic and oil. I used 2 cups of bread crumbs,you really need it and can't avoid wasting some as it clumps when you dip the eggplant and the clumps have to be thrown out. I did throw away part of the egg mixture though and felt 3 eggs with 2T of water would have been enough for dipping. I turned the eggplant 1/2 way through the cooking process and found 25 minutes enough. I served sweet Italian sausage on the side and found it was a nice compliment, as suggested by another reviewer. I have a pan that is slightly larger than a 9x13 and that worked out better for me. Spray your foil before putting it on and the foil won't stick. A good and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
My husband and I love this. No grease, and so yummy! I used eggplant & zucchini, and put some peppers & onions in the oven while the other veggies were getting toasty. Layered it all with sauce (about two jars) and mozzarella cheese. Hubby doesn't like parm cheese. Still wonderful! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SukeyNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
The recipe is fantastic. I've used both regular and panko bread crumbs on different occasions. The fact that it was all baked instead of fried, made it so much less messy, plus a nice health bonus. if you've never made eggplant before (i hadn't) this is really an excellent recipe to try. peeling the eggplant is a bit tricky, the better your veggie peeler, the easier time you'll have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Augie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rahway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This was my first attempt at eggplant parmesan. The eggplant tasted very yummy, but the recipe needed AT LEAST another jar of sauce. The sauce cooked down and the dish was dry. I will try this dish again using more sauce and a different kind (my family did not care for the Ragu Robusto, a bit too heavy tasting).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Fantastic, I picked fresh eggplant from my garden and they were small Ichaban, so for me to make a small brownie size pan it took about 4. This was great - my husband & I loved it. What was even better, we had leftovers and both had it for lunch the next day and we agreed it was even better the second day. I can wait for more to be ready to pick so I can make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Knoebel Roberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Delicious without complicated. I have made this a number of times now. My vegetarian sweetheart loves taking this to work with her for a quick reheat in the microwave. Her coworkers tell her they wish they had a man at home who could cook so well. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pundragon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I wanted to like this but it just wasn' t the same for me. I think I will just fry the eggplant. I just prefer it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheeky
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This was really delicious. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because I made a few minor changes. We love lots of sauce, and since I served this on whole wheat linguini, we needed a second jar. We also like lots of cheese, so I used 2 cups of the mozzarella. 2 eggs was enough, and I didn't add water to them. Lastly, I garnished with a bit of basil and oregano for the top, and broiled it for about 5 minutes to brown it slightly. It also freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I thought this was excellent. I was looking to cut the frying step out due to time and health reasons. I made just as follows. I had it baking for about 25 minutes but it didn't brown much. I still took the second step and did the layering and second bake. I made it in a 2 quart dish and it baked up nicely in a half hour. I also left it uncovered. My fiance loved it. This is more like 4.5 stars. You really do need more sauce if you make the full recipe as it does absorb and you don't want it dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States