No Frying Eggplant Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This is an excellent recipe! It was absolutely delicious! A few things that I would recommend - I made for 6 people and I probably should have used from 1 - 1 1/2 cups of dried bread crumbs instead of 2 cups (threw away probably at least 3/4 cup of crumbs). Also, I am shocked that it only calls for 1 jar of Ragu sauce. This is definitely not enough sauce to cover this recipe. This recipe SHOULD call for a jar and a half, minimum. Thankfully I had bought another jar to cover all the layers anyway. I used Ragu 6 cheese and the flavor was perfect for this dish. Overall, very wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Very good deffinately requires more sauce than it calls for. I loved it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Great receipe. I was able to modify the recipe to be gluten-free by making my own bread crumbs. I used a gluten-free baking mix to make a loaf of bread and crumbled double the amount called for in the recipe (since my bread crumbs are not the prepared dried seasoned bread crumbs). I got rave reviews - not from the kids, but that's not the recipe's fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
good recips--I browned down Italian sausage & put on top the eggplant before I put the pasta sauce & it came out great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Absolutely wonderful, even for a guy. So simple and delicious, I followed the directions and put it over a little pasta, and voila! Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
My husband and I love this. No grease, and so yummy! I used eggplant & zucchini, and put some peppers & onions in the oven while the other veggies were getting toasty. Layered it all with sauce (about two jars) and mozzarella cheese. Hubby doesn't like parm cheese. Still wonderful! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SukeyNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This was my first attempt at eggplant parmesan. The eggplant tasted very yummy, but the recipe needed AT LEAST another jar of sauce. The sauce cooked down and the dish was dry. I will try this dish again using more sauce and a different kind (my family did not care for the Ragu Robusto, a bit too heavy tasting).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This is absolutely delicious! My family loved it- even my picky 2 year old ate it- and she doesn't like anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This is a keeper for me because it is quick and easy and I like the idea of the no frying as it is a healther version. I did have to use 2 jars of sauce. I like Bertoli garlic and oil. I used 2 cups of bread crumbs,you really need it and can't avoid wasting some as it clumps when you dip the eggplant and the clumps have to be thrown out. I did throw away part of the egg mixture though and felt 3 eggs with 2T of water would have been enough for dipping. I turned the eggplant 1/2 way through the cooking process and found 25 minutes enough. I served sweet Italian sausage on the side and found it was a nice compliment, as suggested by another reviewer. I have a pan that is slightly larger than a 9x13 and that worked out better for me. Spray your foil before putting it on and the foil won't stick. A good and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Excellent recipe, nice change from chicken parmesan. I agree with other reviewers that you don't need 4 eggs and you definitely need more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States