No Frying Eggplant Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by slco16
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
this receipe is awesome! i added breaded zucchini as well and i used 1 1/2 jars of pasta sauce and it came out perfectly =) my family really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This was absolutely perfect! I especially loved the fact that there was no frying involved. No mess and way less fat is always a good thing. The only thing I did differently is that I made my own homemade sauce instead of using jarred or canned. That coupled with the most perfect eggplants made for a delicious supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Dumplin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
The recipe is fantastic. I've used both regular and panko bread crumbs on different occasions. The fact that it was all baked instead of fried, made it so much less messy, plus a nice health bonus. if you've never made eggplant before (i hadn't) this is really an excellent recipe to try. peeling the eggplant is a bit tricky, the better your veggie peeler, the easier time you'll have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Augie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rahway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I thought this was excellent. I was looking to cut the frying step out due to time and health reasons. I made just as follows. I had it baking for about 25 minutes but it didn't brown much. I still took the second step and did the layering and second bake. I made it in a 2 quart dish and it baked up nicely in a half hour. I also left it uncovered. My fiance loved it. This is more like 4.5 stars. You really do need more sauce if you make the full recipe as it does absorb and you don't want it dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I can't stand eggplant, but I loved this recipe. As other reviewers have noted the amount of sauce suggested seems to be insufficient; I used maybe an additional 1/2 cup or so. At any rate, this is easy and delicious--I made this at the behest of my boyfriend, who loves eggplant, and even though I was pretty confident I wouldn't like this, I cleaned my plate. I'll definitely make this again, perfect for a quick mid-week meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Fantastic, I picked fresh eggplant from my garden and they were small Ichaban, so for me to make a small brownie size pan it took about 4. This was great - my husband & I loved it. What was even better, we had leftovers and both had it for lunch the next day and we agreed it was even better the second day. I can wait for more to be ready to pick so I can make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I made this with a few edits, and it came out great! I used the recipe for Homemade Tomato Basil Sauce on this site rather than the recommended sauce, and added ricotta cheese since I had it on hand. I didn't peel the eggplants, since I'm pretty lazy. This is an excellent way to use veggies from the CSA or garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quinniepants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Excellent recipe, nice change from chicken parmesan. I agree with other reviewers that you don't need 4 eggs and you definitely need more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This is a keeper for me because it is quick and easy and I like the idea of the no frying as it is a healther version. I did have to use 2 jars of sauce. I like Bertoli garlic and oil. I used 2 cups of bread crumbs,you really need it and can't avoid wasting some as it clumps when you dip the eggplant and the clumps have to be thrown out. I did throw away part of the egg mixture though and felt 3 eggs with 2T of water would have been enough for dipping. I turned the eggplant 1/2 way through the cooking process and found 25 minutes enough. I served sweet Italian sausage on the side and found it was a nice compliment, as suggested by another reviewer. I have a pan that is slightly larger than a 9x13 and that worked out better for me. Spray your foil before putting it on and the foil won't stick. A good and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This is absolutely delicious! My family loved it- even my picky 2 year old ate it- and she doesn't like anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States