No Fry Crab Rangoon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I was skeptical of the idea of "no fry" crab cheese wontons! They didn't get crispy AT ALL! I let them cook longer than listed and then they just burned but still were not crispy!! In addition the sugar that is listed ruined the filling! Wish I would have stuck to my regular fried method!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Wonton wrappers are not meant to be baked. They come out of the oven burnt on the edges and barely palatable, and extremely chewy. It doesn't take much to fry them....I do not own a fryer so I simply put some oil in my skillet and cooked them on each side until they were golden brown and crispy-as wontons should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spooner, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Evergreen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
The filling is really good but the wraps just didn't do it for us. Maybe we're used to Chinese restaurant style. They just didn't have that crunch. Plus, if I would've known how many this actually makes, I would've halved it, but that was my mistake. These weren't terrible, they were just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kimberly, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Yummy! Use with the wonton wrapper recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
So good! The garlic gave it a zingy heat and the sugar balanced it right out. The addition of the sour cream made it rich and creamy. This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Crab Rangoon is one of my favorite foods and I think this recipe is almost as good as my favorite restaurant. The filling is really,really yummy!!! I did add a dash of soy sauce. I will never make this recipe again though... I hate making wontons! Worst cooking task EVER! I love the chef at my local place even more having made them myself! I ended up folding them into rectangles and it was somewhat easier. I wouldn't bake them again either. The texture wasn't the best even trying all of the tips from other reviewers. They need some grease :-) I still have half a batch of filling and will just heat it and use it as a dip because I never want to fill a wrapper again! But if you are patient and can make 48 you should because the flavor is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
These turned out wonderful! I did cut the recipe in half (it still made a TON of ragoons) I turned the oven to 400 and did not spray butter on the pan or on the ragoons. They browned wonderfully and only needed to be cooked about 5 mins (until the tips of the wraps turned golden brown) of course they are not going to taste fried because they aren't but in both my and my husbands opinion they taste MUCH better than the fried ones ;0) I also used fat free cream cheese and fat free sour cream and you would never know ;0) I new all time favorite :)) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I made these according to the recipe with the exception of subbing green onions for the usual variety. I even used low fat cream cheese and sour cream, and for this "healthy" baked version, I thought they were awesome! I baked at 375 rather than 350 for 15 minutes and the edges crisped up nicely. They obviously weren't crispety crunchety like the deep fried variety, but being rescued from a dozen grams of fat was worth it! Dipped them in the Sweet & Sour Sauce I from this site. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This recipe was so tasty. I loved the innards of the wonton. Mine came out very crispy on the edges, so in the future I might brush with a bit of oil and broil them instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I experimented with both baked & fried versions. The fried version was definitely more crispy but we enjoyed the baked version as well. But I think the ingredient measurements are WAY off because I have a ton of the filling left. It's delicious just wasn't expecting left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States