No Fry Crab Rangoon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
There's a reason these things are fried and now I know why....I even tried to cook these two different ways: folded in a triangle and in a mini muffin tin. I turned up the oven and even sprayed a little Pam on them. They were hard and overly crispy on the ends and yet seemingly undone in the middle. There was no way to salvage these. The filling however is actually very good, but I used real crab vs. imitation and green onion as it's milder in flavor. This is definitely a case where I should have paid attention to the lower ratings.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I halved the recipe since there were only three of us. Also, I lined a mini cupcake pan with the wonton wrappers then filled them so they were like little cups. The filling was outstanding. I'm suprised I had enough because mu hubby kept stealing bites. Will make these again. I am only rating a 4 since I didn't make exactly as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsM...!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I made these as written.I've never made any kind of these before. Next time I would put a little less sugar [it does state'to taste'] With the not frying thou, I don't no, there a little chewy. I had to put the broiler on to get them to brown a little bit. Good flavor, had enough filling for wonton wrapers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
These taste great - the filling really does taste like what you could get in a restaurant. While I like the healthier baked option, the texture is very different - didn't even crisp when I sprayed them with cooking spray. Maybe if they were broiled for a few minutes... I added more green onion than called for and included some of the green tops to add more colour. Really tasty overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Fantastic recipe. This recipe would work with salmon, crab, shrimp or anything else. The cream cheese and sour cream combination is perfect for flavor. I read other reviews and people said they didn't come out crispy or they weren't like fried wontons. I disagree! I did NOT spray the cookie sheet and I did NOT add any spray/oil to the wontons before baking. I put mine in the oven for 12 minutes on 400, they were very crispy and delicious! I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Love the filling but I wound up breaking down and frying them because the texture is so much better....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azrefugee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
need to add scallion & to 'crisp' the wontons, sparay lightly with cooking spray right before putting them in the oven; this should help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAR122

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crivitz, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Good crab rangoon without all the calories of fried crab rangoon. This was my first attempt at making rangoons. This recipe is very easy to work with and it makes a lot. I made a half batch with fat-free cream cheese and it made 30+ rangoons. I think nothing can compare to a "fried" crab rangoon, but this was very good and I most definitely will be making them again. I added some fresh chives in the cream cheese mixture. I baked on parchment paper rather than spraying a cookie sheet. Mine came out nice and crispy. To keep my edges from getting hard, I folded them up and attached to the seams with water. I used a pastry brush dipped in water rather than my fingers. This method just seemed to go faster. Thanks Laura for a sharing a recipe that was a nice compliment to another AR recipe - Pork Fried Rice for Two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I thought the flavor on these was very good. I made them in an attempt to recreate the crab wontons at Pei Wei as my daughter loves them. They are VERY simple to make and they crisped up *fairly* well in the oven...I just know that the texture of the fried ones is so much better. Since this isn't something we'll make frequently, I think I'll try pan frying them in a bit of oil next time...just to see if we can get the texture a little crunchier. I also used green onion instead of regular onion. Served them with a sauce of orange marmalade, chili-garlic sauce and a splash or two of rice wine vinegar...very tasty. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
These were delicious! I placed them in muffin trays and cooked them for 10 min at 350 and then broiled for 5 min. It made them nice and crispy. I also folded mine in a wonton style and used light cream cheese and added green onions instead of reg. Mmmm hit at the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States