No Fry Crab Rangoon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I made these as written.I've never made any kind of these before. Next time I would put a little less sugar [it does state'to taste'] With the not frying thou, I don't no, there a little chewy. I had to put the broiler on to get them to brown a little bit. Good flavor, had enough filling for wonton wrapers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Great recipe! I did add some curry and lemon juice for just a tad more flavor to our liking. Thanks for sharing! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
The filling is AWESOME (used 1/2 onion in chopper doodle and 1 TBS sugar) Would use as cracker spread or over noodles, but the wontons crunchy and yucky, didn't like the rangoons, just the filling! And I had a lot of filling left after making 48 rangoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I halved the recipe since there were only three of us. Also, I lined a mini cupcake pan with the wonton wrappers then filled them so they were like little cups. The filling was outstanding. I'm suprised I had enough because mu hubby kept stealing bites. Will make these again. I am only rating a 4 since I didn't make exactly as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsM...!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
These taste great - the filling really does taste like what you could get in a restaurant. While I like the healthier baked option, the texture is very different - didn't even crisp when I sprayed them with cooking spray. Maybe if they were broiled for a few minutes... I added more green onion than called for and included some of the green tops to add more colour. Really tasty overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
These taste very close to the ones available at a local buffet. I thought the onion was a bit overwhelming -- next time I'll cut back to maybe 1 or 2-teaspoons, finely minced. I made two batches -- one with crab, and one without. Either way they tasted good. You MUST squeeze out all the air and seal well, or the filling will leak out. I think if you stuck a pin in the middle of each one before baking, the filling wouldn't leak out. I sprayed with butter flavored cooking spray before baking. They would be awesome if deep fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
These were good. I haven't had any sort of crab rangoon before. I can see they would be better deep fried since baking them couldn't cook them as evenly. I didn't like how the pinched tops got all crispy and hard, and the bottom/sides were still soft. The filling was delicious! I'd probably serve that with crackers or pita chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
These were ok, too much garlic in my opinion. And it would be so much better if they were deep fried but trying to keep very low fat so it was ok. I may make these again trying just a pinch of the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
need to add scallion & to 'crisp' the wontons, sparay lightly with cooking spray right before putting them in the oven; this should help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAR122

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crivitz, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
i thought these were wonderful! I have made them twice so far and my roommate cant get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States