No Fry Crab Rangoon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This recipe was so tasty. I loved the innards of the wonton. Mine came out very crispy on the edges, so in the future I might brush with a bit of oil and broil them instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I experimented with both baked & fried versions. The fried version was definitely more crispy but we enjoyed the baked version as well. But I think the ingredient measurements are WAY off because I have a ton of the filling left. It's delicious just wasn't expecting left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I was so excited about these, but they were disappointing. Nothing like the restaurant crab wontons, but of course these aren't fried. I didn't like the filling very much...too much sugar and not enough spices. Real crab meat might have made them a little better, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
BAD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Wonton wrappers do not bake well. The taste was good but they were very hard and unpleasant to eat. I ended up just eating the filling by itself. I will make these again...but I will fry them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Filling was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Fantastic no-fry recipe! Making small 'goons and with the lighter versions of cream cheese and sour cream mine came to 55 cal each. Deep fried are yummy but we're off all deep fried foods for now. My husband says he likes these baked rangoons better than the deep fried local Chinese places because the crab flavor is the top note rather than grease or sugar. We prefer them as snacks without sauce. I enjoy finding healthy recipes and regularly makeover otherwise unhealthy-for-us recipes, so we never feel as if we're missing anything. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Closter, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Berlin, New York, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Good crab rangoon without all the calories of fried crab rangoon. This was my first attempt at making rangoons. This recipe is very easy to work with and it makes a lot. I made a half batch with fat-free cream cheese and it made 30+ rangoons. I think nothing can compare to a "fried" crab rangoon, but this was very good and I most definitely will be making them again. I added some fresh chives in the cream cheese mixture. I baked on parchment paper rather than spraying a cookie sheet. Mine came out nice and crispy. To keep my edges from getting hard, I folded them up and attached to the seams with water. I used a pastry brush dipped in water rather than my fingers. This method just seemed to go faster. Thanks Laura for a sharing a recipe that was a nice compliment to another AR recipe - Pork Fried Rice for Two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
this a great, quick way to make these at home. the filling will keep for a day or two in the fridge and my husband loves them enough that I make a full batch for him to snack on a couple nights in a row. The changes I made are to spray them with a bit of cooking spray before oven. and if I want the wrappers to be crispier I will use mini muffin tins to place the wrappers in, lightly spray with cooking spray, oven for a couple minutes, then fill and return to oven to finish baking. the filling is visible this way but they are crispier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I have been making a filling like this for years. It is very delicious. I use canned crabmeat and not the immitation one and I use low-fat cream cheese and sour cream. However, I put the filling in mini phyllo cups and bake. Very delicious. Way less calories than frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gobomel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States