No Fail Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
This was amazing, better than any homemade pound cake I've ever made. I used DH butter recipe cake mix, skipped the lemon and doubled the vanilla. My "what the heck kind of cake has no frosting--that's the only part I eat" kids went nuts and asked for this for their b-day cakes!! AAAAA++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
Don't eat it the first day, I made that mistake the first time. It still tastes like a boxed mixed then. If you wait a day, the flavors seem to meld and it takes on the right texture and taste. Don't know how but it tasted like a scratch made pound cake then. I make this recipe most often to use as a base for strawberry shortcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
This was a very good recipe to try!! I made this with butter/nut in place of the vanilla and lemon flavoring and it had a very good flavor...although I could plainly taste the cake mix...it still had the flavor and good texture...remember to mix as directed...to much mixing will incorporate too much air and the batter could flow over the edges!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Funmom25

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: South Weber, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
My husband loves this cake. It's so easy. I've also changed the cake mix flavor and extracts to create a variety of different cakes. Delicious plain or topped with strawberries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLBEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakeville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
I make all my cakes from scratch. Never care for cake mixes because of their texture and after taste. I have to say that this is a very good cake mix recipe. I like it alot and would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
This cake was very good, I was very surprised. It was so easy. You wouldn't know it wasn't from scratch. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
This cake was ready to go in the oven when I discovered my oven was broken. There it sat for about half an hour while I tried to figure out what to do. I decided to bake it in my toaster oven and, to my surprise, it still came out perfect. I did not add the lemon extract, but substituted extra vanilla and a little butter extract. Served it with sliced strawberries and Cool Whip, and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
Just made this cake for the first time last night. It was simple, but delicious. It's a lighter texture than regular pound cake. I baked it in a tube pan rather than a bundt pan, and it only took about an hour. I've had three phone calls about it already, and it was just cut! I frosted it with a buttercream frosting, per the request of the birthday girl, and it's great! Thanks for a recipe that will be used again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
This was the best pound cake I have ever tasted! Very light texture and wonderful taste. I prepared mine in 2 loaf pans and sprinkled a little cinnamon and sugar on top for an added treat! Turned out great. It was yummy served with cool whip and strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
A good cake. Easy to make. Nice because most of the ingredients are on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYG25

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montevideo, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States