No Fail Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
I take my baking very serious. I'm usually a cake mix snob. I had to try this because I wanted to experiment. This was, surprizingly wonderful. I made mine alittle diff. because I didn't have some things on hand. I used oil instead of butter(I'm sure butter makes it better.) I omitted the lemon extract for 1/2 tsp of almond extract and 1 TBL of good van.(That's what gives pound cake the traditional lb.cake flavor.) Also, I only had french vanilla cake mix. I also used buttermilk instead of the 2/3c of water. You have to make this cake a day ahead to appreciate it. Do not eat it warm because it still tastes like cake mix. Trust me, next day!! I also wouldn't ice it or glaze it unless you like you cake super sweet. We found it was wonderful with a cup of coffee. This would make a great base for s.c coffee cake. I think I will use this as my new lb. cake recipe-because it is so easy. However, next time, I will use butter and butter cake mix. I think that prob. makes it! You can still use oil- it was still great! Just use butter flavored cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2bakecookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Great cake, tastes just like homemade. Use Duncan Hines yellow BUTTER cake mix, a little more flavor and beat 5 minutes at the end. The BUTTER yellow cake mix makes a better cake than just the regular yellow cake mix. I have experimented a lot with this recipe and it is very versatile. As a pound cake, I top it with any type of icing. It also makes a great sheet cake. I use this same recipe to make chocolate sour cream pound cake, using Duncan Hines BUTTER chocolate cake mix , eliminating the lemon flavor and adding more vanilla. Top with chocolate or white buttercream icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This cake is wonderful!!! I made a few alterations though. I changed the cake mix to Devil's Food, omitted the Lemon extract and added in a package of chocolate chips. The cake baked very well and the chocolate chips held together but melted into the cake at the same time. To die for! I bake regularly and people always love it but I've never had every single person who got some to ask for the recipe. Even the men!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I admit my general bias against yellow boxed cake mixes, however, every now and then I come across a recipe that really can fool even me. Not so here. No matter that this recipe doctors up a cake mix nearly to the point of its being a scratch cake; it tasted like, well, a yellow cake mix - a dry, yellow cake mix. Better to have skipped the cake mix altogether, since all the rest of the ingredients for a pound cake were there. In addition, the baking instructions state 60-80 minutes - mine was a tad over baked at 55 minutes. As previous reviewers remarked, this has a coarse crumb, and is not nearly as moist as it should have been. My suggestion, if you are a fan of yellow cake mixes to begin with, is to simply bake a yellow cake mix according to package directions, or look for a doctored cake mix recipe that includes sour cream and pudding. Otherwise, skip the cake mix and make a scratch pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This cake is easy and taste just like a homemade cake. I used a chocolate cake mix and cooked this cake a little under done. It was so moist I could have eaten it all myself. I did not put in as much sugar as the recipe called for. I always take my cakes out of the oven when a little bit of cake is left on the toothpick. But it does look cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
This was amazing, better than any homemade pound cake I've ever made. I used DH butter recipe cake mix, skipped the lemon and doubled the vanilla. My "what the heck kind of cake has no frosting--that's the only part I eat" kids went nuts and asked for this for their b-day cakes!! AAAAA++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
This is the best cake. I've made it 4 times in 3 weeks, and I can't get enough of it. I have made it with lemon cake, golden butter yellow cake, and regular yellow cake. It is fabulous. I've even toyed with the extracts a little. It tastes better than my grandma's homemade, much to her dismay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Galloway, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
What an awesome cake! Had to use a lemon cake mix. Drizzled the finished cake with a lemon glaze. At a recent church fellowship, it disappeared before I could even sample.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
This was by far the best pound cake I have ever made. I used almond extract instead of lemon(because I didn't have any lemon)and everyone loved it. We ate it with strawberry's and blueberry's. Then later we added ice cream with the fruit. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
After adding all the ingreds to the cake mix, it still tasted like a cake mix. This cake is not bad. I just thought it lacked the flavor of a pound cake. The texture was okay, moist enough but not quite dense enough. I won't bake this one again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States