No Fail Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
I used vanilla and almond extract instead of vanilla and lemon..very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINELIZ821

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
I make all my cakes from scratch. Never care for cake mixes because of their texture and after taste. I have to say that this is a very good cake mix recipe. I like it alot and would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
After adding all the ingreds to the cake mix, it still tasted like a cake mix. This cake is not bad. I just thought it lacked the flavor of a pound cake. The texture was okay, moist enough but not quite dense enough. I won't bake this one again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
This was amazing, better than any homemade pound cake I've ever made. I used DH butter recipe cake mix, skipped the lemon and doubled the vanilla. My "what the heck kind of cake has no frosting--that's the only part I eat" kids went nuts and asked for this for their b-day cakes!! AAAAA++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
This cake was very good, I was very surprised. It was so easy. You wouldn't know it wasn't from scratch. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
This was a very good recipe to try!! I made this with butter/nut in place of the vanilla and lemon flavoring and it had a very good flavor...although I could plainly taste the cake mix...it still had the flavor and good texture...remember to mix as directed...to much mixing will incorporate too much air and the batter could flow over the edges!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Funmom25

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: South Weber, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
This cake was ready to go in the oven when I discovered my oven was broken. There it sat for about half an hour while I tried to figure out what to do. I decided to bake it in my toaster oven and, to my surprise, it still came out perfect. I did not add the lemon extract, but substituted extra vanilla and a little butter extract. Served it with sliced strawberries and Cool Whip, and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
Very good...very easy...texture slightly coarse but it'll do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestertown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
My husband loves this cake. It's so easy. I've also changed the cake mix flavor and extracts to create a variety of different cakes. Delicious plain or topped with strawberries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLBEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakeville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
Pretty good. Not as dense as I like a pound cake to be, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States