No Fail Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This cake is wonderful!!! I made a few alterations though. I changed the cake mix to Devil's Food, omitted the Lemon extract and added in a package of chocolate chips. The cake baked very well and the chocolate chips held together but melted into the cake at the same time. To die for! I bake regularly and people always love it but I've never had every single person who got some to ask for the recipe. Even the men!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I was really disappointed with this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly. This doesn't even look like pound cake and the consistency is the same as a regular "cake from a box". Pound cake is supposed to be dense, not airy. I used the mini loaf pans and the cake stuck so bad that they all fell apart when I tried to get them out of the pan. What a waste! I will never use this recipe again. Not sure what everyone else likes about this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pink Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I love recipes that start with a box mix - so easy to prepare. Try adding the zest and juice of one lemon to this recipe and drizzle with a tart lemon glaze. Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Weston, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This was a tasty cake! Not as heavy as a pound cake and very moist. I used a vanilla cake mix instead of yellow and 1 Tbsp vanilla extract instead of the 1 tsp called for and the 1 tsp of lemon extract. Thanks for an easy, quick recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Aldie, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
FABULOUS!! This is the only pound cake I will ever eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
this is an incredible pound cake. taste as if it is made from scratch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This cake is easy and taste just like a homemade cake. I used a chocolate cake mix and cooked this cake a little under done. It was so moist I could have eaten it all myself. I did not put in as much sugar as the recipe called for. I always take my cakes out of the oven when a little bit of cake is left on the toothpick. But it does look cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I don't know if I'd call it a "no fail" poundcake...it was quite crumbly. But it was okay cause I used for trifle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
The perfect easy pound cake recipe. With the chocolate caramel rasberry sauce, it tasted even better! That sauce was made for a pound cake and you can find the recipe on allrecipes.com! Talk about a 1-2-3 easy recipe! For either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I am giving it a 5 because the taste was great, probably the best I ever tasted, however, the cake was quite crumbly. Not the consistency I think of when I think of a pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States