No Fail Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I made this cake for a family gathering and I didn't change a thing. It was wonderful topped with fresh berries and whipped cream. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I am no baker by any means, but I must say this recipe is outstanding. I made it with my 6 year old grandson over the holidays and my family just loved it, especially the grandson.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Rialto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This cake turned out PERFECT!! I used 2 tsp of vanilla extract (no lemon. Dunc Hines Golden Butter Mix and added a butter/cream glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA
Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Excellent cake! I made this to use in a trifle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDY88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Overall, this pound cake was only ok. I'm in the camp that thinks a pound cake should be less crumbly, less airy, and more dense. Flavor was nice, but texture could use some work. By the way, I didn't use any lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I have made a variant of this recipe and that is what my rating is based on. I apologize to anyone who prefers that we not rate/review recipes that we've tweaked, but this is too good not to share. Here's what I used: 1 white cake mix with pudding 1 c. flour 1/2c. butter 1/2c. margarine 1 c. sugar 5 eggs 8 oz. vanilla yogurt (not sugar free or fat free) 1/2c. milk NO WATER Mix these ingredients in the manner and order included in the recipe. This is absolutely exquisite. Hope it works well for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This cake is wonderful!!! I made a few alterations though. I changed the cake mix to Devil's Food, omitted the Lemon extract and added in a package of chocolate chips. The cake baked very well and the chocolate chips held together but melted into the cake at the same time. To die for! I bake regularly and people always love it but I've never had every single person who got some to ask for the recipe. Even the men!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I was really disappointed with this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly. This doesn't even look like pound cake and the consistency is the same as a regular "cake from a box". Pound cake is supposed to be dense, not airy. I used the mini loaf pans and the cake stuck so bad that they all fell apart when I tried to get them out of the pan. What a waste! I will never use this recipe again. Not sure what everyone else likes about this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pink Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I love recipes that start with a box mix - so easy to prepare. Try adding the zest and juice of one lemon to this recipe and drizzle with a tart lemon glaze. Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Weston, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This was a tasty cake! Not as heavy as a pound cake and very moist. I used a vanilla cake mix instead of yellow and 1 Tbsp vanilla extract instead of the 1 tsp called for and the 1 tsp of lemon extract. Thanks for an easy, quick recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Aldie, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States