No Fail Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
So Simple! I substitued vanilla extract for all lemon extract and added blueberries.I also made cream cheese frosting with lemon...Wonderful and easy treat! Very moist! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth
Living In: Berlin, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Sorry, there was not itme to take pictures. I made this for my husbands birthday as pound cake is his favourite. This recipe did not disappoint. The only change I made was to replace the lemon with almond for a light almond flavour (my husband's prefernce). Would use this recipe again for sure! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamraD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Very nice, a oh so moist. I used a white cake mix.. the eggs make it yellow anyway :) Also used butter flavor extract in place of lemon (didn't have any) So very good and doesn't even need frosting. All I did was sprinkle a little powdered sugar for presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This cake is dry and very course. DIDN't really like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIEVA56
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Very tasty! I added 1 1/2 cups of blueberries (rolled in flour) to mine. Topped it with a glaze of lemon juice and powdered sugar. Family gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fordyce, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I've made this cake twice and both times it turned out great. A nice way to change it up is to play with the flavorings - I included vanilla, but switched the other out - lemon, almond, etc. It's a very versatile recipe - we'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Not that great; I've had better dressed-up cake mixes. This one tasted almost too "eggy" to me. My husband like it, but he'll eat almost anything! :-) Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This came out great! I substituted peach brandy for 1/2 of the water and added a little almond extract. Next time I think that I'll up the peach brandy though.....I liked the taste enough to want some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I made this cake for a family gathering and I didn't change a thing. It was wonderful topped with fresh berries and whipped cream. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jannyj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I am no baker by any means, but I must say this recipe is outstanding. I made it with my 6 year old grandson over the holidays and my family just loved it, especially the grandson.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Rialto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States