No Fail Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
excellent cake. I used almond extract, and would recommend even more like 2-3 TBSP of it, to bring the flavor to the forefront. I used a "castle" bundt cake, and I must have not pam-sprayed it enough, so it was broken, as I got the cake out of the pan. I patched it all together, using a glaze, and since it was for Easter, decorated it with Peeps, jelly beans, and green coconut, in the center. It was a hit!! Very moist, good cake. Try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This is not a pound cake, the taste is similar but it is really a bundt cake- More dense than a layer/sheet cake. I made just 2 minor changes...1/3 c buttermilk in place of half the water, and I used almond extract and butter flavoring instead of the vanilla/lemon. I figure the cake is already vanilla flavored!! One hour in a tube/bundt pan and it came out wonderfully!!! MMmmmmmm!!! I served balsamic strawberries over it, but next time I think I will make a streusel layer in the middle with cinnamon, pecans and sugar, and glaze the top!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
excellent every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUTTERCUP_CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ronan, Montana, USA
Living In: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Just got this beauty out of the oven . I spray all my pans with Pam. It baked in 1 hour . I made it right by the recipe , it's beautiful ! Have to wait till it cools before I cut it . I did get a taste off the edge, it's great . I'll use this recipe as my favorite. Thanks Patsy .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This is a great basic recipe using a boxed cake mix. I used a German Chocolate cake mix and then added half a tub of German Chocolate frosting to the mix and it was heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Addison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Have made this twice. Took a suggestion and added more vanilla extract and left out lemon extract. This cake is awesome and sooooo easy! Tastes better then my made-from-scratch recipe that I have used for years. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
**********On a scale of 1-10, I give this a 20!!!! AWESOME, easy and flexible. Needed something in a hurry and wanting to use what I already had, I chose this. I substituted plain yellow cake mix for "butter" flavor and used the zest of 1 small orange instead of lemon extract. Out of the oven, you could easily eat a small loaf, NO PROBLEM! Note: flour and grease pans well as they tend to stick, even after cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This cake is awesome. I made this for Christmas dinner and topped it with strawberry sauce and whipped cream. So good! It was enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I am an Executive Pastry chef. I have been looking for a # cake recipe for years to please my customers. This is the one! It is dense and buttery like #cake but yet still soft and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
May be one of the best cakes Ive ever made...company loved it. Had no lemon extract so instead put in a tbl. orange juice. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States