No Fail Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by jadedgurl
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I followed the recipe except for the lemon extract an this came out really good...I love the fact it started out as your typical box cake. I topped mine withe powdered sugar and cinnamon. I used baking spray and it was done in just under 1 hr. Next time I think I will use the butter cake mix as others had suggested and double the vanilla. The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadedgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
EXCELLENT!!! I swear by this... Family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
very good and easy - have made it several times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Made this cake for the first time on Christmas. It didn't last the night. I will keep this recipe on the top of my list for pound cake recipes Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
First time making pound cake, this recipe is out of this world good. As suggested before, I use a butter cake mix and also added 1 tsp orange extract. Served it with fresh sliced strawberries and blueberries and extra creamy cool whip. Great reviews by co-workers. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I found out about this website from a co-worker, and I just love it! My boyfriend requested a pound cake for his bithday. After a full day of work, this recipe was perfect! Quick, easy to follow and not a lot of ingredients. The cake was wonderful. It was very moist and more importantly, he loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I am usually very skeptical of using cake mixes (okay, I'm a bit of a cake snob) but this worked very well. I notice that another reviewer kept saying she would omit the oil...what oil? I made it exactly as written, NOT making the cake according to the box, but dumping the mix in dry. I added two tsp. good vanilla, a tsp. almond extract and a tsp. of rum extract. After I turned the warm cake out on a rack to cool, I drizzled a light glaze made of confectioners' sugar, a little water and a tsp. each of vanilla, rum and almond extracts. My husband and father loved it, as did I. If I have to use cake mix I buy Duncan Hines ONLY...no other brand...ever. I used the Golden Butter Duncan Hines cake mix and this made up very well with my few tweaks. You don't need to cook it 60 minutes. I think 50- 55 tops would do it, although ovens do vary. This is a very good cake, especially with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JePeuxCuisiner

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I made this cake to top with strawberries for strawberry shortcake. I did not have lemon extract so I used tsp of vanilla but that was the only change I made. We ate some the first day after it cooled and it was good but not really and dense as regular pound cake. The next day it had the perfect pound cake texture though! If possible make this a day ahead, it makes a big difference to let it sit a day. It was still great the same day for strawberry shortcake though. It did seem a tad sweet is my only complaint, I may cut the sugar in half next time. I think this recipe would be amazing if made with a lemon cake mix too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gideon'sMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Banks, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
THIS IS A WINNER..... IT NEVER FAILS.. MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY CRAVES AND LOVE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simply Divine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I agree this is not a pound cake, but I will say it makes one hell of a bundt cake! I tried this cake for Sunday dinner and it was a hit! This recipe is simple and you can make alterations without damaging the final product. I didn't have vanilla extract so I used double lemon extract. Next time I plan on adding more butter. TRY IT YOU"LL LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States