No Fail Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This cake was so easy to make and it tastes really good. My family was really happy with it. I will add this recipe to my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Pretty easy and turned out nicely. I used a vanilla cake box mix and subbed in the zest and juice of a lemon instead of the lemon extract. Next time, I could try another lemon and I REALLY should sift the cake mix. It made the batter quite lumpy! Oh, and I could try another recommendation to use devil's food cake mix and chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
My husband loves this cake. I have made it several times and it always comes out moist and delicious. Only thing I advise is to add sour cream first then gradually add water or the mix will splash everywhere!! I bake for 50 min. at 350* Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jadedgurl
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I followed the recipe except for the lemon extract an this came out really good...I love the fact it started out as your typical box cake. I topped mine withe powdered sugar and cinnamon. I used baking spray and it was done in just under 1 hr. Next time I think I will use the butter cake mix as others had suggested and double the vanilla. The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadedgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
EXCELLENT!!! I swear by this... Family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
very good and easy - have made it several times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Made this cake for the first time on Christmas. It didn't last the night. I will keep this recipe on the top of my list for pound cake recipes Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
First time making pound cake, this recipe is out of this world good. As suggested before, I use a butter cake mix and also added 1 tsp orange extract. Served it with fresh sliced strawberries and blueberries and extra creamy cool whip. Great reviews by co-workers. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I found out about this website from a co-worker, and I just love it! My boyfriend requested a pound cake for his bithday. After a full day of work, this recipe was perfect! Quick, easy to follow and not a lot of ingredients. The cake was wonderful. It was very moist and more importantly, he loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I am usually very skeptical of using cake mixes (okay, I'm a bit of a cake snob) but this worked very well. I notice that another reviewer kept saying she would omit the oil...what oil? I made it exactly as written, NOT making the cake according to the box, but dumping the mix in dry. I added two tsp. good vanilla, a tsp. almond extract and a tsp. of rum extract. After I turned the warm cake out on a rack to cool, I drizzled a light glaze made of confectioners' sugar, a little water and a tsp. each of vanilla, rum and almond extracts. My husband and father loved it, as did I. If I have to use cake mix I buy Duncan Hines ONLY...no other brand...ever. I used the Golden Butter Duncan Hines cake mix and this made up very well with my few tweaks. You don't need to cook it 60 minutes. I think 50- 55 tops would do it, although ovens do vary. This is a very good cake, especially with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JePeuxCuisiner

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States