No Fail Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I love this easy cheaters pound cake recipe. I used this recipe to make an Almond pound cake by using two t. spoons of almond instead of the vanilla and lemon. My friends and family loved it and it was gone in not time. I also used this recipe to make a lemon raspberry pound cake by switching the yellow cake mix for the lemon supreme cake mix. You can use what ever flavor combinations you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GeorgiaPeach2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thomasville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
It was just ok. Nothing to write home about
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
It was very good, and pretty easy to make. I used 1 TBSP vanilla and 1/4 tsp almond extract instead of the lemon. I baked for 40 minutes, and it was perfect. It was good, but it was maybe a tad too sweet? It was also not as "buttery" as I like. Still a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This is truly the best pound cake out there! I used white cake mix and omitted the lemon flavoring. Three tiers layered with *Devonshire Cream* recipe from Allrecipes, and fresh strawberries around the edges for a beautiful strawberry shortcake wedding cake. People are asking for another wedding so they can get some more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I am in search of a great pound cake. This is good, but still seems cake mix like and not dense enough. It is moist, but not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Very easy and quick.. I didn't have any lemon extract so I used 3teaspoons of Lemon juice and a little less water. I sure can't wait to make another one using cake mixes...Thanks....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Great cake recipe - I get rave reviews every time I make this to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This was a wonderful cake! I usually make my Pound cakes from scratch, but this was A-OK!! I will most definitely be making it again! And soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atrublkqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Opelika, Alabama, USA
Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
this is pound cake perfection!! i love this recipe. my only change is to use nonfat greek yogurt in place of the sour cream, and to omit the lemon extract. i served with two sides - chocolate frosting and cherry pie filling - and let people choose how to top it. some had it plain, some used both chocolate and cherries. but everyone thought it was a great cake. super easy and no-fail for sure! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I am an experienced baker and I love homemade recipes. With that being said, this recipe is definitely a keeper! I don't know how other readers experienced dryness, lumps or cake mix flavor. I used real vanilla and lemon, and I sifted my flour and cake mix. Follow the steps and make sure you mix each set of ingredients well. Mine came out very much like my homemade recipe does. Light but flavorful. Definitely will be using this recipe time and time again! Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eholsey1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States