No Fail Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 26, 2006
I had this pound cake at a friend's house the other day and WOW was it delicious!!! We were all oohing and ahhing over how moist and delicious it was. And of course, everyone wanted the recipe! :) I like the fact that it saves a lot of steps & ingredients by adding a mix. It turned out as tasty as any I have had.I can't wait to make one of my own!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
What an awesome cake! Had to use a lemon cake mix. Drizzled the finished cake with a lemon glaze. At a recent church fellowship, it disappeared before I could even sample.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I used a lemon cake mix, turned out beautifully! My husband loves anything lemon - so it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Copan, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Hereford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Oh no!! My no fail pound cake failed! It fell and I am a pretty darn good cook. Can't figure out what I did wrong. Oh well, win some lose some, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This cake is awesome, I added some cognac in place of the water and the cake was even more outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I cooked this cake 2 times and followed the direction exact, both times it fell flat.......was good but flat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I just made this cake and brought it into work and it was gone with an hour! Everyone loved it and wanted the receipe. The lemon flavor does stand out and would be really good with some lemon/sugar icing.. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
This was just delicious. I'd bet it would be good with a 1/4 cup of cocoa added too (which I plan to try next go round). I glazed the top with my 'Sour Cream Frosting' recipe (located on this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
I take my baking very serious. I'm usually a cake mix snob. I had to try this because I wanted to experiment. This was, surprizingly wonderful. I made mine alittle diff. because I didn't have some things on hand. I used oil instead of butter(I'm sure butter makes it better.) I omitted the lemon extract for 1/2 tsp of almond extract and 1 TBL of good van.(That's what gives pound cake the traditional lb.cake flavor.) Also, I only had french vanilla cake mix. I also used buttermilk instead of the 2/3c of water. You have to make this cake a day ahead to appreciate it. Do not eat it warm because it still tastes like cake mix. Trust me, next day!! I also wouldn't ice it or glaze it unless you like you cake super sweet. We found it was wonderful with a cup of coffee. This would make a great base for s.c coffee cake. I think I will use this as my new lb. cake recipe-because it is so easy. However, next time, I will use butter and butter cake mix. I think that prob. makes it! You can still use oil- it was still great! Just use butter flavored cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2bakecookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
Easy to make cake and I will definitely try it again. I made the mistake of leaving it in the oven too long and it overbaked. This cake also didn't come out as dense as other pound cakes. But, the recipe is worthy of experimentation. In my book - this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newark, New York, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States