No Fail Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I used a lemon cake mix, turned out beautifully! My husband loves anything lemon - so it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Copan, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Hereford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Oh no!! My no fail pound cake failed! It fell and I am a pretty darn good cook. Can't figure out what I did wrong. Oh well, win some lose some, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This cake is awesome, I added some cognac in place of the water and the cake was even more outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I cooked this cake 2 times and followed the direction exact, both times it fell flat.......was good but flat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I just made this cake and brought it into work and it was gone with an hour! Everyone loved it and wanted the receipe. The lemon flavor does stand out and would be really good with some lemon/sugar icing.. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
This was just delicious. I'd bet it would be good with a 1/4 cup of cocoa added too (which I plan to try next go round). I glazed the top with my 'Sour Cream Frosting' recipe (located on this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
I take my baking very serious. I'm usually a cake mix snob. I had to try this because I wanted to experiment. This was, surprizingly wonderful. I made mine alittle diff. because I didn't have some things on hand. I used oil instead of butter(I'm sure butter makes it better.) I omitted the lemon extract for 1/2 tsp of almond extract and 1 TBL of good van.(That's what gives pound cake the traditional lb.cake flavor.) Also, I only had french vanilla cake mix. I also used buttermilk instead of the 2/3c of water. You have to make this cake a day ahead to appreciate it. Do not eat it warm because it still tastes like cake mix. Trust me, next day!! I also wouldn't ice it or glaze it unless you like you cake super sweet. We found it was wonderful with a cup of coffee. This would make a great base for s.c coffee cake. I think I will use this as my new lb. cake recipe-because it is so easy. However, next time, I will use butter and butter cake mix. I think that prob. makes it! You can still use oil- it was still great! Just use butter flavored cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2bakecookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
Easy to make cake and I will definitely try it again. I made the mistake of leaving it in the oven too long and it overbaked. This cake also didn't come out as dense as other pound cakes. But, the recipe is worthy of experimentation. In my book - this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newark, New York, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Great cake, tastes just like homemade. Use Duncan Hines yellow BUTTER cake mix, a little more flavor and beat 5 minutes at the end. The BUTTER yellow cake mix makes a better cake than just the regular yellow cake mix. I have experimented a lot with this recipe and it is very versatile. As a pound cake, I top it with any type of icing. It also makes a great sheet cake. I use this same recipe to make chocolate sour cream pound cake, using Duncan Hines BUTTER chocolate cake mix , eliminating the lemon flavor and adding more vanilla. Top with chocolate or white buttercream icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
I was looking for a good coconut cake recipe, and this is excellent for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States