No Fail Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This cake was awesome! I really suck at making cakes, so if I can make this one anyone can! it had a lovely light lemon flavour, and nice moist texture. I did not have sour cream so I subbed 3/4 cup sour milk (milk with 1 Tbsp vinegar) and added 1/3 cup butter when creaming the butter and sugar. I served each slice with a generous amount of homemade strawberry rhubarb compote. the tartness of the compote really worked with the sweetness of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Very easy,and super moist!! I used milk instead of water, just vanilla extract and a white cake mix. I baked it at 350 for 45 min and it came out perfect...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
First pound cake I have ever made. It came out perfectly and was very tasty for a "cheater" cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I have used this recipe many times using Duncan Hines Yellow butter recipe (16.5 oz). After adding the eggs to the butter and the sugar, let the mixture beat for 2 minutes. Then add the flavor, mix in. Then add the sour cream and water, mix in. Last, add in flour and cake mix. Mix well and beat for 2 minutes on medium. The batter will have the texture of a pound cake. It only takes 50 to 55 minutes to cook in an aluminum pan, slightly less time in a dark pan. Hope this helps those who did not have success the first time. This recipe also works well for layer and sheet cakes. I get rave reviews all the time and everyone thinks its made from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I have made this 2 times and it was a hit both times I made it. One change for my oven, it only took 45 min. to cook, so watch this so it doesn't overbake. Easy and sooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Tasted too much like a regular cake / not like a pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Loved this version of pound cake. Made as recipe stated, topped with strawberry sauce and icecream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Five Boys One Mom so nota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I found this recipe simple and delicious! I took advice from other reviewers and cut back on the sugar. This helped because the cake was sweet even when I cut back on the sugar. I was hesitant with using yellow cake mix, but it worked. I enjoyed this recipe and will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I made this cake a couple of weeks ago for my family and they LOVED IT!!! It was so delicious! I used Duncan Hines Butter cake mix (as suggested by a previous reviewer). I followed the recipe otherwise. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
60 mins was a bit too long for me - next time i'll take it out at 50. but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States