No Fail Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Add 2-3 tablespoons of poppy seeds. It is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I love this cake have made it several times! Today I had a bunch of blueberries to use...I followed the recipe but added zest of one lemon and the juice. I sprinkled wondra flour over the frozen berries and folded them in..made butter crumbs 2/3 cup each flour and sugar and three quarters stick of butter mix till crumbled..I put two thirds on the cake Before baking and after the cake is removed from pan sprinkle on remainder.out of this world. Berries do not sink..I wait till the next day before serving..but that is difficult!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murphy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This cake was awesome! I really suck at making cakes, so if I can make this one anyone can! it had a lovely light lemon flavour, and nice moist texture. I did not have sour cream so I subbed 3/4 cup sour milk (milk with 1 Tbsp vinegar) and added 1/3 cup butter when creaming the butter and sugar. I served each slice with a generous amount of homemade strawberry rhubarb compote. the tartness of the compote really worked with the sweetness of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Very easy,and super moist!! I used milk instead of water, just vanilla extract and a white cake mix. I baked it at 350 for 45 min and it came out perfect...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
First pound cake I have ever made. It came out perfectly and was very tasty for a "cheater" cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I have used this recipe many times using Duncan Hines Yellow butter recipe (16.5 oz). After adding the eggs to the butter and the sugar, let the mixture beat for 2 minutes. Then add the flavor, mix in. Then add the sour cream and water, mix in. Last, add in flour and cake mix. Mix well and beat for 2 minutes on medium. The batter will have the texture of a pound cake. It only takes 50 to 55 minutes to cook in an aluminum pan, slightly less time in a dark pan. Hope this helps those who did not have success the first time. This recipe also works well for layer and sheet cakes. I get rave reviews all the time and everyone thinks its made from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I have made this 2 times and it was a hit both times I made it. One change for my oven, it only took 45 min. to cook, so watch this so it doesn't overbake. Easy and sooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Tasted too much like a regular cake / not like a pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Loved this version of pound cake. Made as recipe stated, topped with strawberry sauce and icecream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Five Boys One Mom so nota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I found this recipe simple and delicious! I took advice from other reviewers and cut back on the sugar. This helped because the cake was sweet even when I cut back on the sugar. I was hesitant with using yellow cake mix, but it worked. I enjoyed this recipe and will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States