No Fail Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Very tasty! I added 1 1/2 cups of blueberries (rolled in flour) to mine. Topped it with a glaze of lemon juice and powdered sugar. Family gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fordyce, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I've made this cake twice and both times it turned out great. A nice way to change it up is to play with the flavorings - I included vanilla, but switched the other out - lemon, almond, etc. It's a very versatile recipe - we'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Not that great; I've had better dressed-up cake mixes. This one tasted almost too "eggy" to me. My husband like it, but he'll eat almost anything! :-) Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This came out great! I substituted peach brandy for 1/2 of the water and added a little almond extract. Next time I think that I'll up the peach brandy though.....I liked the taste enough to want some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I made this cake for a family gathering and I didn't change a thing. It was wonderful topped with fresh berries and whipped cream. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I am no baker by any means, but I must say this recipe is outstanding. I made it with my 6 year old grandson over the holidays and my family just loved it, especially the grandson.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Rialto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This cake turned out PERFECT!! I used 2 tsp of vanilla extract (no lemon. Dunc Hines Golden Butter Mix and added a butter/cream glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA
Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Excellent cake! I made this to use in a trifle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDY88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Overall, this pound cake was only ok. I'm in the camp that thinks a pound cake should be less crumbly, less airy, and more dense. Flavor was nice, but texture could use some work. By the way, I didn't use any lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I have made a variant of this recipe and that is what my rating is based on. I apologize to anyone who prefers that we not rate/review recipes that we've tweaked, but this is too good not to share. Here's what I used: 1 white cake mix with pudding 1 c. flour 1/2c. butter 1/2c. margarine 1 c. sugar 5 eggs 8 oz. vanilla yogurt (not sugar free or fat free) 1/2c. milk NO WATER Mix these ingredients in the manner and order included in the recipe. This is absolutely exquisite. Hope it works well for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amalie Hinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States