No Fail Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Very tasty! I added 1 1/2 cups of blueberries (rolled in flour) to mine. Topped it with a glaze of lemon juice and powdered sugar. Family gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fordyce, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I've made this cake twice and both times it turned out great. A nice way to change it up is to play with the flavorings - I included vanilla, but switched the other out - lemon, almond, etc. It's a very versatile recipe - we'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Not that great; I've had better dressed-up cake mixes. This one tasted almost too "eggy" to me. My husband like it, but he'll eat almost anything! :-) Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This came out great! I substituted peach brandy for 1/2 of the water and added a little almond extract. Next time I think that I'll up the peach brandy though.....I liked the taste enough to want some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I made this cake for a family gathering and I didn't change a thing. It was wonderful topped with fresh berries and whipped cream. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jannyj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I am no baker by any means, but I must say this recipe is outstanding. I made it with my 6 year old grandson over the holidays and my family just loved it, especially the grandson.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Rialto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This cake turned out PERFECT!! I used 2 tsp of vanilla extract (no lemon. Dunc Hines Golden Butter Mix and added a butter/cream glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA
Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Excellent cake! I made this to use in a trifle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDY88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Overall, this pound cake was only ok. I'm in the camp that thinks a pound cake should be less crumbly, less airy, and more dense. Flavor was nice, but texture could use some work. By the way, I didn't use any lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I have made a variant of this recipe and that is what my rating is based on. I apologize to anyone who prefers that we not rate/review recipes that we've tweaked, but this is too good not to share. Here's what I used: 1 white cake mix with pudding 1 c. flour 1/2c. butter 1/2c. margarine 1 c. sugar 5 eggs 8 oz. vanilla yogurt (not sugar free or fat free) 1/2c. milk NO WATER Mix these ingredients in the manner and order included in the recipe. This is absolutely exquisite. Hope it works well for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amalie Hinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States