No Fail Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
excellent cake. I used almond extract, and would recommend even more like 2-3 TBSP of it, to bring the flavor to the forefront. I used a "castle" bundt cake, and I must have not pam-sprayed it enough, so it was broken, as I got the cake out of the pan. I patched it all together, using a glaze, and since it was for Easter, decorated it with Peeps, jelly beans, and green coconut, in the center. It was a hit!! Very moist, good cake. Try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This is not a pound cake, the taste is similar but it is really a bundt cake- More dense than a layer/sheet cake. I made just 2 minor changes...1/3 c buttermilk in place of half the water, and I used almond extract and butter flavoring instead of the vanilla/lemon. I figure the cake is already vanilla flavored!! One hour in a tube/bundt pan and it came out wonderfully!!! MMmmmmmm!!! I served balsamic strawberries over it, but next time I think I will make a streusel layer in the middle with cinnamon, pecans and sugar, and glaze the top!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
excellent every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUTTERCUP_CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ronan, Montana, USA
Living In: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Just got this beauty out of the oven . I spray all my pans with Pam. It baked in 1 hour . I made it right by the recipe , it's beautiful ! Have to wait till it cools before I cut it . I did get a taste off the edge, it's great . I'll use this recipe as my favorite. Thanks Patsy .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This is a great basic recipe using a boxed cake mix. I used a German Chocolate cake mix and then added half a tub of German Chocolate frosting to the mix and it was heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Addison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Have made this twice. Took a suggestion and added more vanilla extract and left out lemon extract. This cake is awesome and sooooo easy! Tastes better then my made-from-scratch recipe that I have used for years. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
**********On a scale of 1-10, I give this a 20!!!! AWESOME, easy and flexible. Needed something in a hurry and wanting to use what I already had, I chose this. I substituted plain yellow cake mix for "butter" flavor and used the zest of 1 small orange instead of lemon extract. Out of the oven, you could easily eat a small loaf, NO PROBLEM! Note: flour and grease pans well as they tend to stick, even after cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This cake is awesome. I made this for Christmas dinner and topped it with strawberry sauce and whipped cream. So good! It was enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I am an Executive Pastry chef. I have been looking for a # cake recipe for years to please my customers. This is the one! It is dense and buttery like #cake but yet still soft and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
May be one of the best cakes Ive ever made...company loved it. Had no lemon extract so instead put in a tbl. orange juice. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States