No Fail Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
this is pound cake perfection!! i love this recipe. my only change is to use nonfat greek yogurt in place of the sour cream, and to omit the lemon extract. i served with two sides - chocolate frosting and cherry pie filling - and let people choose how to top it. some had it plain, some used both chocolate and cherries. but everyone thought it was a great cake. super easy and no-fail for sure! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I am an experienced baker and I love homemade recipes. With that being said, this recipe is definitely a keeper! I don't know how other readers experienced dryness, lumps or cake mix flavor. I used real vanilla and lemon, and I sifted my flour and cake mix. Follow the steps and make sure you mix each set of ingredients well. Mine came out very much like my homemade recipe does. Light but flavorful. Definitely will be using this recipe time and time again! Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eholsey1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
PURE POUND CAKE PERFECTION. THAT IS ALL I CAN SAY. I DO NOT MAKE ANY OTHER POUND CAKE BUT THIS ONE.EVEN BETTER MADE A DAY IN ADVANCE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I was told that this cake was the best pound cake anyone had tasted and even better than a local bakery. NeEd I say more ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This cake was so easy to make and it tastes really good. My family was really happy with it. I will add this recipe to my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Pretty easy and turned out nicely. I used a vanilla cake box mix and subbed in the zest and juice of a lemon instead of the lemon extract. Next time, I could try another lemon and I REALLY should sift the cake mix. It made the batter quite lumpy! Oh, and I could try another recommendation to use devil's food cake mix and chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
My husband loves this cake. I have made it several times and it always comes out moist and delicious. Only thing I advise is to add sour cream first then gradually add water or the mix will splash everywhere!! I bake for 50 min. at 350* Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jadedgurl
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I followed the recipe except for the lemon extract an this came out really good...I love the fact it started out as your typical box cake. I topped mine withe powdered sugar and cinnamon. I used baking spray and it was done in just under 1 hr. Next time I think I will use the butter cake mix as others had suggested and double the vanilla. The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadedgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
EXCELLENT!!! I swear by this... Family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
very good and easy - have made it several times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States