No Fail Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I don't know if I'd call it a "no fail" poundcake...it was quite crumbly. But it was okay cause I used for trifle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
The perfect easy pound cake recipe. With the chocolate caramel rasberry sauce, it tasted even better! That sauce was made for a pound cake and you can find the recipe on allrecipes.com! Talk about a 1-2-3 easy recipe! For either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I am giving it a 5 because the taste was great, probably the best I ever tasted, however, the cake was quite crumbly. Not the consistency I think of when I think of a pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I don't know what I did wrong but this cake didn't taste good at all, and it was crumbly. I normally use my own pound cake recipe, and everyone likes it. I took this to church and brought most of it home! Anyway, I guess I'll use it in a trifle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
This was very moist. I used almond extract instead of lemon and used a white cake mix instead of yellow! I cut up some fresh strawberries and it made a yummy strawberry shortcake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
The flavor of this cake is very good, however the texture is that of a boxed mix. For me a pound cake has a dense structure with very little crumb and that isn't the case with this recipe. I will make it again, but I won't advertise it as pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
This cake is awsome, when my grandmother used to make pound cake she would dust the pan with powdered sugar instead of flour, it makes a nice sugary crust on the outside of the cake, no need for icing or glaze. I did it when I made this one and it was awsome, I have had countless requests for this recipe when I make it. It is very good with a Lemon Cake mix, lemon pudding and lemon extract!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetcakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
This is the best cake. I've made it 4 times in 3 weeks, and I can't get enough of it. I have made it with lemon cake, golden butter yellow cake, and regular yellow cake. It is fabulous. I've even toyed with the extracts a little. It tastes better than my grandma's homemade, much to her dismay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Galloway, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
Well received! Made 4 mini loaves with Betty Crocker butter cake mix, omitted the lemon extract. Served with a fresh strawberry topping. Great flavor, but would prefer my pound cake a little bit denser. Will Definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
This was by far the best pound cake I have ever made. I used almond extract instead of lemon(because I didn't have any lemon)and everyone loved it. We ate it with strawberry's and blueberry's. Then later we added ice cream with the fruit. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States