No Fail Pie Crust III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Made this once when I was out of shortening and I'll probably never go back either (unless I'm out of butter, ha-ha). Hubby is a real "crust freak". Last time I made this crust, he could care less what the filling was and just wanted to eat the crust. Thanks for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I'll definitely be using this recipe again. The trick to this crust is to work fast and roll it out as soon as you can make a dent in it with the rolling pin. It baked up beautifully and tasted great. I used a blend of whole wheat pastry flour and whole wheat bread flour. I rebaked my mince pie in an attempt to bake off the brandy (live and learn!) by placing it on a cookie sheet and covering it well with foil. After nearly 2 hours of extra baking, the crust had browned a bit more and stayed nice and soft. I might try it with a non-trans-fat margarine (like Smart Balance) for all or part of the butter next time, to cut down on cholesterol. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
I've been using this recipe for a few years now. As a bona fide pie crust KLUTZ, I can say that this has revolutionized my pie crust! Simple, never fails, the proportions are perfect! Delicious, light, and very attractive in color and texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim*designer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I was really really skeptical of this dough, cause I had the same problem, it was way too sticky. But after I put it in the fridge for 24 hours and rolled it out with flour.It was perfect,everyone loved the crust,I made it with the sauteed apples on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvisgood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
I mixed the ingredients in a food processor for ease. The dough seemed awfully wet- I was forced to use LOTS of flour to roll it out- even on a silicone baking mat. It did turn out nicely, though- with both a quiche and a pie. A good find overall
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Excellent crust, flaky and delicious. I did need to use a bit more liquid, but otherwise it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
Absolutely wonderful! My family loved this pie crust with the double layer black bean pie recipe from this site (also wonderful). I will only use this recipe from now one for pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mylittlesprouts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Moab, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
This is the best recipe I have ever used for pie crust. My crust came out better than ANY pie crust I have had in years. Once you make the dough, as a warning, it seems like it is a little too dry and crumbly, but it turned out perfect without any change to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
everyone loved it, I put in into a rhubarb pie (also found on this site) and my family said it was the best rhubarb pie they have ever had, they said the crust was the best part (now that's different) they loved the filling also, dont get me wrong, but the crust is what made it the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
The ratio of flour to butter in this recipe is not what I'm used to. Normally I use one part butter to three parts flour, whereas this recipe calls for one part butter to two parts flour. After five minutes in the oven this crust seemed to turn to melted butter. I feared the worst, but went ahead and used it anyway. It turned out all right, but it was a bit crispy and not as delicate as my normal crust. From now on I think I'll stick to that one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States