No Fail Pie Crust III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Delicious, but doesn't quite stretch to cover a 9" round pan as promised. But very easy to make and use. I would agree with the "no fail" part as I don't do much baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahDietitian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I love this site, but I did not care for this recipe and I just had to comment. I KNEW it had too much butter in it, but I made it anyway. Sure enough, I had a sticky, globby mess that wouldn't roll out. I had to piece it together to get it into the pie plate. After 10 minutes in the oven, the crust had pulled away from the sides of the pan, and it was scrunched in the bottom of the pan with butter sizzling all around it! This should be called "sure-fail pie crust"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
this pie crust is perfect. i will not use any other crust for any of my pies.i could eat this crust plain. it is the best . thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Maysville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I love this recipe-THE best pie crust I have ever tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Cougar, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This worked even when I substituted whole wheat flour! Halving the recipe made enough for 4 double crust pot pie crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This is the first time I've ever attempted any kind of homemade pastry. I made the dough and then rolled it in four balls and chilled them. Once I got ready to use them, I had a hard time rolling it out, so I ended up just pressing it into the pie pan. Then I realized I'd have to somehow put a crust on top of the pie. So I rolled it as best as I could and kind of pieced it together on top. It didn't turn out pretty, by any means. However, it had a good taste. Maybe a tad dry, but still as good as or better than the pre-made ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Really great! Thank you! So happy to find one without lard or oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
This crust was a total failure for me, and I am an experienced baker. I believe the ratio of flour to butter is off, with way too much butter, because the dough was pulling together before I even added the egg and other liquid. It turned into a sticky mess that I had to scrape off the pie mat. Couldn't even get it into the pie plate. I'm going back to the tried and true Betty Crocker recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Though I am a good cook, I am AWFUL at baking. After having tried and failed several other pie crust recipes, I finally made a delicious pie using this recipe! It really is a no fail formula! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
No matter what I put in this crust--quiche, peach pie, chicken pot pie--the crust is the best part! I've always thought making pie crusts from scratch was a hit-or-miss kind of thing, but this really was "no fail," and it helps that it tastes like any good pie crust should taste: light and fluffy, perfectly flaky and buttery! MM! Now I'm looking for excuses to put SOMETHING in one of these wonderful crusts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LubbocKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States