No Fail Pie Crust III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I love this recipe-THE best pie crust I have ever tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Cougar, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This worked even when I substituted whole wheat flour! Halving the recipe made enough for 4 double crust pot pie crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This is the first time I've ever attempted any kind of homemade pastry. I made the dough and then rolled it in four balls and chilled them. Once I got ready to use them, I had a hard time rolling it out, so I ended up just pressing it into the pie pan. Then I realized I'd have to somehow put a crust on top of the pie. So I rolled it as best as I could and kind of pieced it together on top. It didn't turn out pretty, by any means. However, it had a good taste. Maybe a tad dry, but still as good as or better than the pre-made ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Really great! Thank you! So happy to find one without lard or oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
This crust was a total failure for me, and I am an experienced baker. I believe the ratio of flour to butter is off, with way too much butter, because the dough was pulling together before I even added the egg and other liquid. It turned into a sticky mess that I had to scrape off the pie mat. Couldn't even get it into the pie plate. I'm going back to the tried and true Betty Crocker recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Though I am a good cook, I am AWFUL at baking. After having tried and failed several other pie crust recipes, I finally made a delicious pie using this recipe! It really is a no fail formula! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
No matter what I put in this crust--quiche, peach pie, chicken pot pie--the crust is the best part! I've always thought making pie crusts from scratch was a hit-or-miss kind of thing, but this really was "no fail," and it helps that it tastes like any good pie crust should taste: light and fluffy, perfectly flaky and buttery! MM! Now I'm looking for excuses to put SOMETHING in one of these wonderful crusts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LubbocKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
This crust was phenomenal! it was so easy! i will definitely make this in years to come. the only problem i had was the cooking time to blind-bake it for my lemon meringue pie "grandma's lemon meringue pie" on this site.i ended up doing 8 minutes at 400 F. thank you soooo much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I cut this recipe in half...didn't need 4 crusts! This turned out really good...I like that it didn't have shortening in it...we have a cholesterol issue over here! Also, I used SmartBalance in place of the butter...I usually do that and have very good results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Okay, this was the easiest pie crust I've ever made and to top it off, it tastes great, too!!! What more could you ask for? I will use this recipe forever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States