No Fail Pie Crust III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This crust came out perfectly for me. It was a tiny bit wet (probably humidity) but the flour on the rolling pin and the board was enough to correct it. Coated with egg and sprinkled with sugar and it was beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This pie crust is amazing! I want to bake pie all the time, just so I can use this recipe. I am not very good at rolling out the crust, but that's just my own folly, I assume. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santaquin, Utah, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I've made versions with butter and shortening, and they are both good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I've used the shortening version of this recipe for years - it's perhaps a little more flaky but this butter version FAR surpasses it in flavor. You can fail with this recipe - in fact the "never fail" ones are the hardest pie crust recipes I've ever worked with. I think they are "never fail" because they never fail to taste great not because they are easy. The secret is to make sure you blend the butter well with the flour, get just the right amount of liquid and chill this dough for at least 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Excellent! Loved this recipe, used twice today, made a blue and blackberry pie as well as a chicken pot pie. This shows the diversity of this excellent pie crust!! I was especially happy that I found one that didn't use shortening (I forgot to pick it up and didnt want to run back to the store). It came out wonderful for each pie that I made and I will definitely be using it again! Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This is the best tasting pie crust I have ever used!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
My first time making pie crust and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Air force wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
OH MY GOODNESS! I love to cook and bake and have NEVER EVER made a good crust before, until today! I divided the recipe by 4 to make just a single crust (even measured the gram weight of the egg in order to get the right amt.) and it was AWESOME! I used the crust for the Sugar Cream Pie I recipe on this site. It too was amazing! THIS IS MY NEW CRUST RECIPE!!! FOREVER AND EVER!!!...me again...made this tonite for Irish Beef Handpies...WONDERFUL!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFKULP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Brook, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Narvon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I decided on a four because in the end it did come out allright. I had a hard time mixing in the water, I had really wet clumps and then dry crumbly parts. Maybe I'm just not very good at making pie crusts. It really did come out okay in the end so I may come back to this one after I try a few others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shurkat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Easy to make..good..no complaints here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenWolfe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States