No Fail Pie Crust III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by ~Hannah~
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Absolutely wonderful pie crust!! I followed the recipe exactly, except adding a bit more water so that the dough would stick together better. Flaky, buttery, crisp--- everything you would want in a pie crust! I made it for the blueberry pie: and it was SO GOOD. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Hannah~

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Excellent recipe especially for pot pies and pasties! However flour absorbs moisture from the air so if you live in a humid area like me you might need to add a little additional flour to keep it from being sticky. Conversely if you live in a dry climate you might need a little less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I made a mistake but it came out perfect. I put 2 cups of Whole Wheat flour in separate bowls and added 1/4 tsp salt. I cut in 1 cup of butter and then measured 1 egg, 1 tsp. vinegar and cold water...forgetting that this measurement was for 4 cups of flour, I put the whole amount into the bowl with 2 cups flour and the salt. I was pleasantly surprised that the dough was perfect and very easy to roll out between layers of plastic wrap and very delicious and flaky. I will use the same measurements again. Sometimes mistakes are rewarding. I may cut back on the butter and use 1 1/2 cups instead of 2 cups. I will definitely use my "mistake recipe" again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
It was easy to make, but it still tried to stick to my non-stick coated rolling pin, and seemed heavy on the butter. Even after I chilled it, I found it crumbling to pieces that I had place in the pie dish dish and then press together. Not fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This is exactly like my recipe that I have used for years. It also freezes well. Roll out your crust and layer them on a pizza pan with plastic wrap between. wrap the whole pan tightly and put in the freezer. when ready to bake a pie just remove the crust and let thaw. Works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
You just gotta love the flavor of a butter-based pie crust. This one was good; I'm not sure what the vinegar and egg really bring to the party, but, hey, it was good. I did need a little more than the recommended water to get it to come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This crust came out perfectly for me. It was a tiny bit wet (probably humidity) but the flour on the rolling pin and the board was enough to correct it. Coated with egg and sprinkled with sugar and it was beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This pie crust is amazing! I want to bake pie all the time, just so I can use this recipe. I am not very good at rolling out the crust, but that's just my own folly, I assume. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santaquin, Utah, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I've made versions with butter and shortening, and they are both good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I've used the shortening version of this recipe for years - it's perhaps a little more flaky but this butter version FAR surpasses it in flavor. You can fail with this recipe - in fact the "never fail" ones are the hardest pie crust recipes I've ever worked with. I think they are "never fail" because they never fail to taste great not because they are easy. The secret is to make sure you blend the butter well with the flour, get just the right amount of liquid and chill this dough for at least 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States