No Fail Pie Crust III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I made this with gluten-free flour and it was perfect... just what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
So easy and so tasty! I use this for Karen's Chicken Potpie recipe on this site - they are amazing together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I am not sure what happened with my pie crust but it was a failure. I followed the recipe exactly and the pie crust was awful to work with. It would tear very easily when rolling out and when transfering to the pie pan. I got so frustrated that I had my husband roll it out because he has worked in restaurants for many years and is an excellent cook/baker. He even said this was the worst pie crust he has ever worked with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Everyone loved the flakiness and flavor of this crust. I used it for 4 different types of pies and was wonderful. Not mushy and held up well without being tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~Hannah~
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Absolutely wonderful pie crust!! I followed the recipe exactly, except adding a bit more water so that the dough would stick together better. Flaky, buttery, crisp--- everything you would want in a pie crust! I made it for the blueberry pie: and it was SO GOOD. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Hannah~

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Excellent recipe especially for pot pies and pasties! However flour absorbs moisture from the air so if you live in a humid area like me you might need to add a little additional flour to keep it from being sticky. Conversely if you live in a dry climate you might need a little less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I made a mistake but it came out perfect. I put 2 cups of Whole Wheat flour in separate bowls and added 1/4 tsp salt. I cut in 1 cup of butter and then measured 1 egg, 1 tsp. vinegar and cold water...forgetting that this measurement was for 4 cups of flour, I put the whole amount into the bowl with 2 cups flour and the salt. I was pleasantly surprised that the dough was perfect and very easy to roll out between layers of plastic wrap and very delicious and flaky. I will use the same measurements again. Sometimes mistakes are rewarding. I may cut back on the butter and use 1 1/2 cups instead of 2 cups. I will definitely use my "mistake recipe" again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
It was easy to make, but it still tried to stick to my non-stick coated rolling pin, and seemed heavy on the butter. Even after I chilled it, I found it crumbling to pieces that I had place in the pie dish dish and then press together. Not fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This is exactly like my recipe that I have used for years. It also freezes well. Roll out your crust and layer them on a pizza pan with plastic wrap between. wrap the whole pan tightly and put in the freezer. when ready to bake a pie just remove the crust and let thaw. Works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
You just gotta love the flavor of a butter-based pie crust. This one was good; I'm not sure what the vinegar and egg really bring to the party, but, hey, it was good. I did need a little more than the recommended water to get it to come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States