No Fail Pie Crust III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I am pie crust challenged..I have tried at least 8 other recipes and although they come out, they are hard to work with and I find myself disappointed at not "getting" it. I am not a quitter though, so I tried again this year and came across this recipe. I followed recipe exactly, but dough was very crumbly, so I did have to add more water, a little at a time, to get desired result. Wrapped it up and put in fridge. Rolled it out between lightly floured wax paper. I did not get it perfect yet, but it looked okay and baked up great. And it was delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by embeau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I grew up on this recipe -- my mother had worked in a bakery. We often used lard for savory especially or mixed lard and butter. After cutting in the butter/lard, place in refrigerator while prepping the next step. To make it easier, I put the vinegar and 1 tbsp ice water together, whisk in the egg, then finish up with more ice water to get 1/2 c total of the mixture. Seems to get the egg more incorporated. It is dry here, so I have to just carefully watch the amount of water used. The ice water helps keep the butter in little pieces. I've even made this 50/50 whole wheat and regular unbleached flour with tremendous success. This crust is so good that people always eat it!! no leaving crust on their plate. I give the finished portioned dough at least 2 hours in the fridge in order to make sure any possible gluten strands relax. Keep bench flour handy for rolling out (bench, hands, pin). I've made this since an early teen. And, trick for the top on the upper crust: spread milk on it just to lightly moisten. If a sweet pie, sprinkle lightly all over the top crust with some granulated sugar. The crust becomes absolutely gorgeous with that bakery tip!! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanee Van Ee-Mortensen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I have never attempted pie crusts before and had my backup Pillsbury pie crusts in the fridge, but there they will stay as this was incredibly easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
the crust was very difficult to work with after refrigeration. The taste was fine, but a little tangy. It didn't work very well as a base for a pecan cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I loved this pie crust,I used it to make chicken pot pie and it turned out flaky and even the bottom crust cooked perfectly. I will use this crust for my pies too. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
this is the BEST
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Very easy to make. Like that you do not need shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
First time crust maker here and I had no issues with making it UNTIL I was ready to bake it...no directions :( so it was my mom to the rescue - she suggested I bake it at 350 for 10-12 min or until slightly brown....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Super easy and super delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I experimented with subbing a few of tablespoons of butter with oil and I got spectacular compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States